Skip to content

a certain sign of grace.

September 23, 2013

Every year, around the end of September, the world sighs. Or maybe it’s just me.

Summer is officially over as of yesterday. This is my fifth week back to work (I know, I know, we teachers are so spoiled with summers off). Things can feel a bit slump-y.

But then, something magical happens. It’s called Returning Fall Shows. To me, it’s a certain sign of grace.

I just…think that whoever decided that shows would come back at the beginning of Fall is the most brilliant person ever. I know it’s not just me, because I see people posting on Facebook about their shows coming back. It’s just fun to have a little something to look forward to at the end of a long day…a story to get pulled into, a character to connect with.

There are actually only two shows that I’m super excited about this season. One is Parenthood (which I’ve blogged about before), and the other is the Mindy Project. Parenthood was so good last season. Yes, I only started watching it because Lauren Graham was on Gilmore Girls back in the day, and yes, the show has some annoying plot holes and inconsistencies at time, and, yes, it’s creepy that Lauren Graham and Peter Krause are dating in real life but they are brother and sister on the show but MAN, way to tug on our heartstrings with every episode, writers of Parenthood. I think Colby cried during just about every episode.

And…I can’t really say enough about how much I love Mindy Kaling. She’s smart, hilarious, successful…you go girl. Great addition of James Franco on this new season. I legitimately laughed out loud 5-10 times during the season premiere.

Unknown-1    Unknown-2

 

Shows that I was previously into but have kind of lost their luster for me are New Girl and Downton Abbey. I know, blasphemy, right? But seriously, all of the things about the characters of New Girl that I used to find hilariously quirky, now I’m like, grow up. Let’s see a little character development.

 

Unknown-4   Unknown-3

As far as Downton Abbey goes, I don’t want to ruin anything for those of you who haven’t watched yet, but I’ll just say don’t get too attached to any of the characters, because they ALL DIE. For the love of God, don’t kill Bates. Please don’t kill Bates!

 

Unknown-5

***

So there you have it. Did I miss anything? Am I wrong about Downton and New Girl? Are there any shows that you love that you think I should be watching?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2013 11:45 am

    This is so great. Love it. Love you.

  2. Maria permalink
    September 23, 2013 12:57 pm

    I really enjoy the mysteries of Pretty Little Liars and Twisted. Hilary got me hooked on PLL and it’s kind of one of the ways for us to connect. Switched at Birth is also interesting. I learn a little of sign language on that show. :-)

  3. Mama permalink
    September 24, 2013 1:17 pm

    I’m hoping for a new season of Star Trek TNG. Been waiting a long time.

  4. September 24, 2013 8:34 pm

    Oh gosh. I’m sooo with you on Downton Abbey I refuse to watch another episode. And yay for Parenthood! I just have to find a way to be able to watch it. :-/

  5. Ashley H permalink
    September 26, 2013 5:14 am

    I’ve loved Nashville since the first episode. So good! The storyline is so intricate.

    • October 1, 2013 10:23 pm

      yeah, i’ve been wanting to check that out! thanks for the reminder :)

Leave a comment