Skip to content

calvin’s room.

June 8, 2014

Yes, you read it right. Our baby has a name: Calvin Ryan. We decided to stick with the family tradition of initials CRL just for this one, so baby Cal will have the same initials as his dad, grandfather, and great-grandfather.

For his room, we landed on a hybrid theme of Where the Wild Things Are slash nautical. It works (haha, at least I think so) because Max sails over to the land where the wild things are. In the first picture, you can see some precious handmade things–a friend made the initial letters that hang above the changing table. My younger sisters painted the scenes and quote from the book. And that bunting? It’s still going strong–my older sister made it for our wedding.

bed and changing nook.jpg

The bookshelf (right now) holds parenting books and kid books. I figure Calvin won’t be reading for a little while, so he can share with me. The shelf holds a few other special items, including a hand-sewn stuffed animal made by my older sister and a limited edition (haha) Brimpapery print that was a gift from my friend Jolie. My parents bought Calvin a set of Uncle Arthur bedtime stories, which are really beloved if you know them, and if not, you’re kind of like “who’s Uncle Arthur??” The anchor wall art was made by dear friends and gifted to us as well.  A favorite little item in the room for me is the vintage Fisher Price record player. We loved ours as kids, and surprisingly, it’s pretty easy to snag one from eBay.

bookshelf nook.jpg

This kid has a lot of clothes. Need I say more? That closet is kind of stressfully packed full. A friend suggested we get a crib skirt and hide a bunch of stuff under there. Love that idea. ;)

closet nook.jpg

I really love this corner with the crib. The bunting was made by Colby’s cousin Idalia, and I love how it turned out. The crib was a hand-me-down (so wonderful!), and the kite with the wave painting came allllll the way from Japan and was sent by my aunt. We debated back and forth between glider and rocking chair, but ultimately, when I saw that pouf at Target, I had to have it, and rocking chair it was. Colby found the little side table at a yard sale for a dollar (I swear, that man needs to create a business out of his ability to find exactly the item that he’s searching for through bargain venues).

crib nook.jpg

 

The funny thing about decorating a baby’s room is 1) it’s actually not for the baby at all, because the baby does not and will not care for a long time and 2) you spend all this time getting it all ready and then you realize the baby will not even use the room for a couple of months. Now that it’s done, however, we feel more excited and ready for his arrival.Come on out, Calvin, we love you so much!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2014 10:31 am

    1. Love his name! Calvin was in the running of our top ten if we had a boy. Good pick.
    2. The room looks so good! Good job, mama! So excited for him to get here.

  2. June 8, 2014 10:31 am

    Also, lol to the limited edition :) XO

  3. Mama permalink
    June 8, 2014 3:46 pm

    I love it.
    I’m so glad you found the FP record player! Love that so much.
    It’s perfect.

  4. Shanna K permalink
    June 10, 2014 6:40 am

    Wow, I can’t believe I made you a stuffed animal at one point! I totally forgot I ever did that. Calvin and Judah Welch are going to be the only two babies that ever got a handmade stuffed animal from me :) Also what’s up to the bunting I made for you. That pouf is perfect. And I still love that afghan (in the crib) that someone gave you at the shower. ALSO you are a genius for that fisher price record player. Okay that’s all.

Leave a Reply

