Skip to content

praise came before the miracle.

January 4, 2014

I wrote this blog post on October 10th, 2013, about a week before I found out that I was pregnant after six months of trying. I hesitated to post it but ultimately decided that it’s a powerful testimony and wanted to share. I know that everyone’s story is different, and we can’t compare the ways that God works in each of our lives. I can’t explain why some people are unable to have children, and I believe God’s goodness is just as true to them as it is to me, but, that being said, I truly believe that through my faith and God’s power, he created a new life. Colby and I are so pleased to announce our sweet baby boy is coming June 2014.

IMG_2855

***

God’s teaching me something these days.

It started a few weeks ago when a group of dear friends read aloud from Isaiah 61. The beautiful imagery fell flat with me as I heard about beauty and joy, gladness and praise. Those words indeed were beautiful, but they weren’t my reality.

My reality was being in a place of mourning, ashes, and heaviness because I wasn’t pregnant. After 5 months of trying, I was empty. Literally—my womb was empty, but figuratively as well; I felt so empty. I felt completely devoid of any control in my situation as I waited with mounting frustration every month.

In a powerful time of meditation and prayer, God gently reminded me to fix my eyes on not on what is seen, but instead on what is unseen (2 Cor. 4:16).  God, with his sweet sense of humor, led me to 1 Peter 1:3 that says, “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope…” And later in the chapter it repeats a familiar phrase on the same theme, “…Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy.” (v. 8).

Those words brought me peace and hope, but God wasn’t done yet.

Yesterday, my devotional spoke of Abraham. From Romans 4:17-19 (MSG), “Abraham was first named ‘father’ and then became a father because he dared to trust God to do what only God could do: raise the dead to life, with a word make something out of nothing. When everything was hopeless, Abraham believed anyway, deciding to live not on the basis of what he saw he couldn’t do but on what God said he would do. And so he was made father of a multitude of peoples. He didn’t tiptoe around God’s promise asking cautiously skeptical questions. He plunged into the promise and came up strong, ready for God, sure that God would make good on what he had said.” 

Abraham was called out and named “father” by God years before it came to pass. Abraham believed it, and God did it. 

In God’s word, there are countless verses that promise children to his people. I started to write those down, take them to heart, and speak them out. I searched his word for promises and claimed them as my truth. I spoke into the future believing that God was going to make good on his word.

In Acts 16:25-26, we see Paul and Silas in jail. They’re in there praying and praising God when, all of a sudden, a miracle happens. God caused an earthquake to break them free from their chains. The praise came before the miracle. May it be so in my life. I’m choosing to believe that the next time I take a pregnancy test it will be positive because God has promised goodness to me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2014 3:32 pm

    This gave me goosebumps! God has certainly blessed you guys! Congratulations on your little miracle dude. :)

  2. Lesa permalink
    January 4, 2014 3:41 pm

    Great is His faithfulness.

  3. January 4, 2014 4:53 pm

    lovely!

  4. January 4, 2014 8:01 pm

    such a beautiful story of faith, Chels. rejoicing with you for your sweet one! xo

  5. January 4, 2014 9:54 pm

    Loved reading this love:) LOVE YOU!!! xxxoo Katie

  6. January 5, 2014 7:20 am

    Hooray!!

    (I’m still waiting for my promise, but I believe it’s coming!)

  7. Laurelle Robertson permalink
    January 5, 2014 9:50 pm

    thanks for sharing this Chelsea!

Leave a Reply

