Skip to content

manna.

December 16, 2013

I often think about the Israelites wandering in the desert. It’s a series of stories that I consistently relate to and find myself pondering. There are just so many parallels that I see between myself and that crazy group of people following a cloud and complaining all the way.

I find myself reading the stories and thinking, how could they? How could they grumble when God 100% miraculously rescued them from the hand of their oppressors?  How could they promise to serve the one true God and then turn around and worship their melted down and re-formed jewelry? How could they doubt in the face of such a faithful God?

And soon the questions start to turn inward, not in an accusing, condemning way, but in a “are you serious?” kind of way. How can I doubt in the face of such a faithful God? After all the ways he’s shown up and provided and done miracles on my behalf…as Jon Foreman put it, “Why should I worry? Why do I freak out? God knows what I need. You know what I need.”

And then there’s this beautiful picture of manna. I get teary-eyed just thinking about manna.

I learned today that Bethlehem means “House of Bread.” Jesus, Our Daily Bread, was born in a House of Bread. It blows me away.  I know that the idea of Jesus being our daily bread is cheesy and so played out and made into a tidy little devotional every year, but the concept is incredible if you stop to think about it.

Just as God provided manna in the desert, Jesus is our provision today. It’s this amazing resource that we have unlimited access to. I have blogged before about how amazing it is to compare our relationship with God now to the relationship with God that the Israelites had. This is yet another example. God provided food and physical sustenance for his people then and continues to do so today. Yet because we have a great high priest who is able to understand all of our circumstances, we can come to God about literally anything and receive grace and mercy.

I don’t even know where I got this, but I have this Heidi Baker quote on a sticky note that I look at often. She’s speaking from the Lord and says, “I want you to eat this fresh bread from heaven, don’t eat the little crumbs from yesterday. I want you to eat fresh bread from my presence every day.”

It’s powerful. Just as the Israelites had to go out and collect fresh provision daily, God calls us to do so now. It challenges me to seek him daily. I don’t want to rely on revelation that I received in the past, as good as it may have been. God has something fresh and new and life-changing for us each day, if we make the effort to go out and collect it. May I be brave enough to continually seek and follow.

[Side note: The inspiration for this blog came from a daily advent devotional that I’ve been reading lately. The She Reads Truth community has been rocking my world for a few months now, and I believe that it could do the same for you, too.]

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Chadwick Jowers permalink
    December 16, 2013 8:57 am

    LOVE this… and you guys.
    :)

  2. Mama permalink
    December 16, 2013 10:36 am

    This morning I read,

    “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
    for I have put my trust in you.
    Show me the way I should go,
    for to you I entrust my life.” Psalm 143:8

    Fresh bread for each and every day!

    I love you.

  3. December 16, 2013 3:07 pm

    Love this and love you:) Bread…oh God is such a provider of abundance:)

  4. December 27, 2013 9:44 am

    you’re like hot fresh bread for my soul. Hot fresh, paleo bread, for my soul. luuurve you.

Leave a Reply

