Skip to content

casita mia: the living room.

April 4, 2013

Here’s a peek into one of my favorite rooms in our house. I love this room because it’s so cozy yet spacious enough to hold a lot of friends. We’ve already had many lifegroup nights, a birthday party, and a family get together here. I’m so happy to have the space to host people. My prayer for this room is that it is a place where people can come to be vulnerable, receive love, and have fun. I hope to sit in this room and have many deep conversations with dear friends and family members. This room is also where we spend our time reading, on the computer, watching movies…living life. I hope this room always feels like a safe place.

There are things I’d like to do still in here (starting with perhaps a different picture over fireplace slash at least center it better…but hey, that’s where the nail already was so I went with it). We want to add a mantel over the fireplace and maybe get new lamps, but this is what we’ve got so far.

Double-sided fireplace=obsession. Coral accent wall. March madness brackets=temporary.  I think that little grey pouf/footrest is the most expensive piece of “furniture” in this room. The rest of the furniture was either free, thrifted, or craigslisted for super cheap. Even the curtains were from Goodwill (poppin’ tags).

Photo5  Photo1

Little details: Grandma’s old camera and a sweet reminder from the Bible. The end tables we picked up on the side of the road. Someone had sanded down the top but apparently given up. I decided to give them a little flair with chalkboard tops framed in mustard. I figured I had nothing to lose since they cost us zero dollars.

Photo2 Photo3

Forty dollar couch from the Habitat for Humanity re:store, mirror craigslisted. Coffee table was left here by the previous owner. Maybe one day we’ll get a cuter one? It works for now. Our orange couch, tried and true and oh so comfortable, will maybe one day have a grey slipcover over it.

Photo4  Photo6

My favorite little nook: art bought in Asheville, made by our friend Meghan, and again, thrifted. The hanging lamp was a birthday gift from Colby that he got at World Market…probably the second-most expensive item in this room. Last picture is one that my friend Amanda took a few weeks ago of me in my natural element. :) My home!

Photo7 backyardchelsea-4259

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria permalink
    April 4, 2013 11:13 am

    Love the coral wall and double-side fireplace. Your house looks very pretty.

  2. April 4, 2013 11:47 am

    supes cute!

  3. Mama permalink
    April 4, 2013 3:07 pm

    Cozy…creative…very welcoming!

  4. laur permalink
    April 4, 2013 6:06 pm

    you look like a little model. i want to snug up on that couch with you and toast marshmallows on both sides of the fireplace.

  5. April 5, 2013 3:08 pm

    I love your home :)

  6. April 8, 2013 11:05 am

    cant wait to see it in real life! so cute.

  7. April 8, 2013 1:53 pm

    Yay!! I love it. Good find with those end tables they look great! I wanna be there with you and cuddle on your comfy couch, having girl talk with you and colbs. :-) loveeeee you.

  8. April 15, 2013 8:45 am

    love love love love love this room:) already SO many good memories! Love you!

Leave a Reply

