Skip to content

easy peasy DIY: lace jewelry holder.

April 1, 2013

 

It’s been way too long since I’ve posted one of these DIYs. I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had time to craft! Oh, the horror. Never fear because I’m back, fully inspired by many hours of pinterest-ing. I’m so happy about how this turned out, and it required minimal effort from me, which is why I deemed it “easy peasy.”

The hardest part was gathering materials. I found the wooden picture frame at the thrift store…I can’t remember how much it was, but probably 5-10$? Then I went to Michaels to look for ribbon, and I didn’t find anything like what I wanted (which was annoying, the Michael’s by me is kind of ghetto). Then I went to Joann fabric and found the perfect ribbons. I kind of over-estimated how much I would need because I didn’t feel like dealing with measuring it out. I got three yards of three different kinds of ribbon, which cost me about $20.

Photo3

I wasn’t sure how I was going to affix the ribbon to the frame, so I pulled out my staple gun and my glue gun. The staple gun was jammed, so I used the glue gun.

Photo2

I placed the ribbons how I wanted them. I patterned them kind of randomly because I didn’t want it to look too perfect. I hot glued down one side and pressed down on it a bit with the metal stand of the glue gun. I let the one side cool down first so it was secure, then pulled it taut and glued the other side.

Photo1

That was it! I hung it on the wall, and then started arranging my jewelry on it. I wasn’t sure how I was going to hang the necklaces and bracelets, and then I remembered the mini clothespins. I got those a while back from Joann fabric online. The other option I saw on another blog was ornament holders, but no one sells those in March, and I didn’t feel like rummaging through my Christmas bin in the garage.

image

Voila! I’m so happy with how it turned out.  Maybe I’ll wear jewelry more often now that it’s hanging right beside my bed?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    April 1, 2013 5:52 pm

    Pretty pretty.

Leave a Reply

