Skip to content

blessings to my dear friends.

March 26, 2013

This is a recent picture of our lifegroup at our church’s third birthday party. :) As you know, these people mean the world to me.

IMG_0419

You may not know that our church feels a specific calling to be the type of church that raises up leaders and releases them to go and change the world. Just within our lifegroup, we see this happening. Our friend Arthur left in January for six months in Uganda with Krochet Kids. And now it’s time for us to let some more friends go.

You remember Katie, right? This is us at our recent Mad Men themed joint birthday party.

IMG_4874

She was my first true heart friend out here in California.

We met in November of 2011, and we’ve had so many great times together in the past 16 months of friendship. We’ve cooked together, celebrated Thanksgiving together, led a VBS together, gone on trips to the beach, watched the Sound of Music at the Hollywood Bowl together…the list goes on. She’s been a big part of my circle of friends.

Katie is the nicest, most genuine person ever. Truly. When someone new walks into a room, she immediately jumps up and makes them feel so welcome. I admire her so much! She’s taught me a lot about what it looks like to do ministry incarnationally–right where you are, letting God use you in your daily life. She and her husband Kevin have amazing relationships with their neighbors, and they’ve seen God move over the past few years living in Fullerton.

IMG_6641

They are moving to Nepal on April 1st to work in an after care home for women rescued out of sex trafficking. It’s so bittersweet for me! There’s something that feels significant about my first friend moving away, but I am so excited for them as they step out into this opportunity. I know that God has such a purpose for them in this season.

Kevin and Katie, you two are bringers of joy, life, and Jesus wherever you go. Blessings on you as you follow him into this new adventure. We’re going to miss you like crazy, but the sacrifice is worth it knowing that you are going to touch so many lives in Nepal. It has been such an honor leading lifegroup together for the past year. God is so so good to have given you to Colby and I to share the same heart that beats for true community. I will be praying for you and am in such anticipation of the great things that will come from your time overseas. I love you guys so much!

You can follow their journey by reading Katie’s blog, Hope Engaged.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2013 8:56 am

    Chelsea, my goodness. I don’t deserve this sweet post. You are SUCH an incredible friend, and I’ve thank god many many a day for you! I have learned so much for you, and admire you in so many ways. You are such a loyal friend, and I have watched you lean into prayer so deeply for the people in our life group! I know you will be praying for us, and I cannot thank you enough. THANK YOU. love you darlin! Wish I could put you and your little ombre in my pocket:) hehe!

  2. March 26, 2013 9:59 am

    May God bless you, Kevin and Katie, as you follow His call.

  3. March 28, 2013 4:41 pm

    How special to be able to share about your friends on your blog. I only know Katie through blogging, but she seems like such a wonderful woman of God!

Leave a Reply

