Skip to content

sharing my…cookies?

March 9, 2013

Ironically, this conversation happened yesterday, on International Women’s Day.

FLDS-polygamy

One thing that’s really fun about teaching ESL is the different cultural perspectives that my students hold. A particularly hot topic is polygamy, something that I have talked about with students often throughout this quarter due to the fact that I have many Saudi Arabian and Kuwaiti students. Not all of them all are for it…but some of them are.

Yesterday I was at this event where many of the students give poster presentations. One of these students who I don’t see on a daily basis did a presentation about whether or not America is really the “land of the free.” He pretty forcibly beckoned me to come look at his poster and launched into an extensive explanation before I really showed interest (sorry, it was nearing the end of the event and I was tired!). He started explaining how he surveyed 30 international students on their opinions about the United States. This whole thing was very humorous to me, but I was trying to bear with him.

One of the questions that he asked his surveyees was what freedoms are limited in America. There it was in big, bold letters. Polygamy. He told me that out of all the students he surveyed (who, by the way, were all males), all of them agreed that polygamy should be legal in the United States. Just to challenge him, I said, “So, a man can marry more than one woman. A woman should be able to marry more than one man, right?” He said, “NO!” I said, “Well, that’s not really freedom then, is it?” He continued on to explain that there are more women than men in the world so women need to share the men.

I wasn’t having it, so he started to question me to try to break me down to agree with him. First he said, “Would you rather live alone or be married to half a man?” Um…no brainer? What is half a man? Live alone. Seeing that his tactic wasn’t working, he then asked me, “Okay. If you made a big, big dish of food and you had way too much food for just yourself, wouldn’t you share it with your friends?” Knowing how awesomely ridiculous this question was in relation to the topic, I answered, “Yes.”

“Ah ha!” He exclaimed. “So you can share your husband.”

…”So you’re comparing people to food?? People are not food.”

“You would share your dish, you would share your husband, you would share your cookies.”

I walked away, cracking up.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2013 10:43 am

    Haha. Oh gosh.

  2. March 10, 2013 4:04 pm

    hahahah…..i’m dying!!!!

  3. March 17, 2013 6:54 am

    LOL :D

  4. Donna permalink
    March 22, 2013 2:17 pm

    Only a man would think women should share their husband. Read the Bible , it didn’t work out then and it is not a good idea now! LOl

Leave a Reply

