Skip to content

on growing up.

February 10, 2013

When Anna was visiting a few weeks ago, she was talking to me about how life is not as “legit” as she thought it was when she was a kid. I totally get that. For example, Anna is the co-owner of a fairly successful small business, which seems legit, but behind the scenes she really has not a clue what is going on with her life besides listening for God’s voice and then doing what she hears him telling her to do. To my students, I’m totally confident and know what I’m doing all the time (at least I hope I appear that way to them). Behind the scenes, some days I’m getting to work a half hour before class starts and frantically trying to figure out how to present some information that I just found out I need to teach them that day.

Life’s not as legit as it seems to be. People fake it till they make it every single day.

I was having a conversation with Colby, who at eight years older than me often seems like so much more of an adult than I am.  I sprawled myself over his lap and asked, “Am I ever going to want to go to work?”

His response was simple, mature, and helpful. He said, “Hmmm…do I want to go to work? Well, there are things I don’t like about going to work, like having to get up early every day. But I mostly enjoy it when I’m there, so I think that means it’s a good job.”

That response has been playing through my mind all week. It actually set me free in a way. I was feeling guilty because I wasn’t leaping for joy to go to work every day. Maybe this is obvious to you, but for whatever reason, I felt like I was being lazy or something for not wanting to go to work. Colby’s a person who is lucky enough to really like his job, and when he told me that he doesn’t leap for joy every morning, it made me feel better, like, oh…it’s normal to not be psyched out of my mind at 6:30am when my feet hit the ground. I’ve been reframing my thoughts on work around this simple revelation. I mostly enjoy work when I’m there, and I’m realizing that this is a good job. Sure, there are things I don’t like about it, but that’s just life.

Screen shot 2013-02-10 at 2.40.02 PM

Deep breath. Here comes another week (with really exciting news to share!) (NO NOT PREGNANT).

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2013 3:46 pm

    hahah! NO…not pregnant. Love it! Missed you guys today. Hope your time with your sister was great!

  2. Aunt Deb permalink
    February 10, 2013 3:55 pm

    Oh yes, growing up into adult life can be so stretching! But …life keeps changing and there are all different seasons. “This too shall pass” has been a favorite saying when life is hard. Don’t want you to miss any blessings in the midst of this struggle….I know you won’t.

  3. February 10, 2013 4:51 pm

    colby is so cool

  4. Carolyn H permalink
    February 10, 2013 5:22 pm

    LOL…I just asked your mom if any of you girls were going to make her a grandma this year!

  5. February 10, 2013 6:01 pm

    Wise husbands are great.

  6. Maria permalink
    February 10, 2013 8:42 pm

    Your feelings and thoughts are very natural and common. Colby is a wise man.

Leave a Reply

