Skip to content

this guy.

January 19, 2013

I was so happy to spend yesterday afternoon with my dear friend Anna. We go way back to the days of 13 hour flights and 20 hour bus rides and getting so sunburnt that we threw up and praying so hard that we saw God. Anna’s visiting LA from Austin because God told her that there’s going to be a revival in LA and he’s been telling her for years that there’s going to be a revival in Austin. She basically came on a month-long missions trip to California with no agenda besides to see what God is doing here. She’s had so many amazing experiences. Anna is so cool. I really admire her.

5ba4925061dc11e2a5b622000a9f1254_7

I love being with my World Race friends because we can laugh and reminisce about the weirdest things, but in the next breath we can go into the deepest conversation that I’ve had in a long time. Anna and I were talking about the places we’ve been and the people we’ve seen and the life we’ve lived since we last saw each other (which was at my wedding!). She asked me what is the hardest thing about marriage.
IMG_3809

I told her it’s hard to let my expectations go of what marriage is supposed to look like and truly enjoy it for what it is. I told her it’s hard because marriage refines you (such a cliché, but so true). God has used Colby to speak into my life in areas that I never wanted to deal with. It’s hard because boys are different from girls. It’s hard because I used to be an independent single lady and Colby used to be a happening bachelor and now we’re learning every day how to build a life together, and sometimes it’s messy. It’s hard because I want so badly to be the perfect wife but I let Colby down sometimes and I hate that.

faf87bf8625b11e2a4d822000a1f924b_7

Thanks for asking me that question, Anna. It made me fall deeper in love with my husband and made me extra super thankful all over again for the last 17 months of my life which have been so amazing. Marrying this guy was the best decision of my life.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2013 9:33 am

    AWWW Chels this post is great. I love you and im excited for you and all God is doing :)

  2. January 19, 2013 10:02 am

    it was such a sweet time for me too! Hows about the hubby and I move in with y’all during the off season of Bananarchy every year? He’s going to be bffs with you guys anyways, right? Wouldn’t you just LOVE to see be every November-February? Be free.

  3. January 19, 2013 10:14 am

    It’s an outrageous blessing to go through life with your best friend!!! God is so good to us.

    …and Colby’s an awesome son and brother, too! :)

  4. January 19, 2013 12:44 pm

    so legit

  5. January 19, 2013 12:44 pm

    and, yes, be free

  6. January 28, 2013 11:06 am

    gaahhhh love this. like really. love IT!

Leave a Reply

