Skip to content

teaching esl.

January 13, 2013

Last week I started teaching at a new job. It was a whirlwind, and I went to bed every night before 10pm. It’s a mixture of struggling to come off the laziness of winter break, processing all the new information, and standing on my feet for many more hours a day. I think I’m going to love it, though.

Hands down, the best thing about teaching ESL is the opportunity to work with some amazing students. They are mostly between the ages of 18-25 and desire to attend university in the US. I love these students already and am so tickled that I get to spend 20 hours a week with them. They are smart, motivated, and funny. I have a feeling they will keep me on my toes.

For their first homework assignment, I told them to email me. They asked what they should say in the email, and I said they could send me whatever they wanted. Some of them just emailed me with their names. Others of them, however, wrote me something special. Here are some of the best emails I got that evening…

***

I’m really happy to meet you :)
I’m so excited our class.!!
See you tomorrow :)
Have a good night and sweet dream ;)
Thank you bye :-)

 

I also strongly agree with that you have said writing is very very important in America.
Hopefully I could write some good article moving people’s heart one day~

 
I want to learn how to express my feeling and thought fluently and freely. I hope you help me a lot. I will study hard, too!
It’s really good to meet you!
Ah! and you look like a movie star ‘Emma Watson’ you are pretty :-)
***
How could I not love them? It’s so fun that God gave me a job where I get to interact with international students every day!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    January 13, 2013 2:25 pm

    Praying for you and your students…may we both “sow with a view toward righteousness” as we teach. I love you!

  2. January 13, 2013 4:41 pm

    melt my heart! I LOVE everything about this sweet post. and what lucky students to have such a caring, beautiful, and loving teacher!!! you little emma watson, you! haha

Leave a Reply

