Skip to content

patiently thankful.

November 28, 2012

This has been a season of waiting for Colby and I.

Waiting with expectation for God to open doors as He sees fit. Waiting and trusting and praying and…waiting.

And now that Thanksgiving has passed, we are entering into the ultimate season of waiting: Advent. Oh, Advent, how I love you with your inspired words, glittering lights, whispered prayers, flickering candles.

I would be remiss if I didn’t stop to say thank you.

I got to have two Thanksgiving dinners this year.

The first was with our lifegroup. We invited friends and neighbors and had a potluck style Thanksgiving complete with turkey, gluten-free cornbread stuffing, fried chicken with salsa, and flan. We sat around after dinner and did popcorn-style praise (even though some people might not have called it that). We thanked God for the blessings he has given us. Thanks to Katie for the pics. :) I’m thankful for my lifegroup, the Tangible Kingdom Primer, and the way that God has moved our hearts to strive toward the single goal of inviting in and loving well. There’s a lot of joy in that.

Thanksgiving numero dos was celebrated with family at a cabin in Lake Arrowhead. We feasted, played games, and a couple of hours later, feasted more (don’t you just love the debate over how much time must pass before you start to dig into the leftovers?). I made a gluten-free cheesecake that I was very proud of, and I was so thankful that Kay and Josh could come down from Northern California to be with us. I’m thankful for my husband and his family–the generosity and love and depth of relationships.

Also making the thankful list is COLBY! Of course. Sorry, I know Halloween is long gone, but…

And also so thankful for the sweet girlies in my lifegroup.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2012 11:54 am

    I’m thankful for YOU! :)

    • November 29, 2012 10:54 am

      thankful for you!!!

      On Wed, Nov 28, 2012 at 11:54 AM, pilgrimage.

  2. Maria permalink
    November 28, 2012 4:46 pm

    Sooo, what have you been waiting for?

    Maria

  3. December 4, 2012 8:55 am

    i just kept smiling when reading this. hope to see you soon!

Trackbacks

  1. blessings to my dear friends. | pilgrimage.

Leave a Reply

