Skip to content

my sacred lifelong journey.

October 3, 2012

It’s hard to believe that it’s been over two years since I returned from the World Race. I remember being on the Race and feeling like one of the disciples in Matthew 10, Mark 6, and Luke 9. Few possessions, empty agenda, heart open–expectant for God to show up. I find myself missing those times of raw dependence on God, missing the adventure, missing the community. And sometimes, I find myself wondering why my life looks so “normal” right now, yet I feel like I’m in the right place. I know God is leading me now, and I’m not going to jump on a plane just because I think that would be fulfilling a so-called holier calling.

I recently read a new book by Seth Barnes, the founder of the World Race (and AIM, its’ sponsoring organization).

Seth’s new book is entitled Kingdom Journeys: Rediscovering the Lost Spiritual Discipline.

I would recommend the book to anyone who is longing for more, anyone planning on going on the World Race or a similar missions trip, or anyone who knows someone who has done that type of trip. Seth does such a great job of explaining the concept of the kingdom journey–it is his heartbeat, what he believes in most. I found myself nodding my head in agreement as he went through and described the stages of abandonment, brokenness, and dependence. He uses powerful real-life stories to illustrate each point he makes. I wanted to give this book to everyone who said they didn’t get why I was giving up a year of my life to travel the world on some crazy trip.

The book had quote after quotable quote. The one, however, that summed it up for me at this point in my life is this:

“In the end, a kingdom journey is about living our lifelong  journey more fully alive. We focus on our relationship with God in the sacred time-space of kingdom journey — so that our longer, more unfocused lifelong  journey may be revealed as sacred as well” (p. 235).

***

I loved the book, and I’m happy to tell you that it’s finally on sale to the public! Right now, they are running an awesome deal. If you buy the book and send them the receipt, you will get a link to download for free every book Seth has ever written (and there’s some good stuff in those books, too!). I encourage you to get your hands on it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2012 10:44 am

    …I always love when you write about the your journey on/since the World Race :)

  2. Mama permalink
    October 3, 2012 11:50 am

    I think we will read it on the plane…

  3. October 4, 2012 6:14 am

    your “normalness” may only be a temporary status…enjoy it wholeheartedly and don’t long for it when it’s gone..!!!

    • October 4, 2012 9:40 am

      absolutely…thanks for the reminder to seek joy and contentment no matter where i am! it’s so important!

Leave a Reply

