Skip to content

hello, again. more inspiration for the weekend.

September 14, 2012

I wish I had more time to blog. I really do. My life is so busy right now. I wake up-work-come home-do homework-make dinner-go to school-fall into bed-repeat (with slight variations).

Confession: sometimes, when my students are doing a writing assignment for me, I catch up on my blog-reading.

Today, this post caught my eye and captured my heart. Ann Voskamp just kills me sometimes with her eloquence.

You know we come from a long line of women who have struggled in their own skin, right?”

Her post is about how being a woman can just be brutal in our society. If not constant, then at least fleeting thoughts of comparison and self-loathing, sucking in and trying hard and worrying happen on a daily (if not hourly) basis. Ann speaks against this. She speaks of how we are daughters of God–created in His image without mistake.

Ann says, “Every woman should breathe peace in her own exquisite skin.”

And she declares. I love declarations. Her declaration is so good and is my battle cry for this weekend:

“We are the women who let go all the woman-baggage that came behind and hold onto each other and affirm in the firm grip of Christ and did you hear me stand there in the kitchen and whisper to you what I heard the Father whisper about you?”

I’m hanging out with these beauties and then some this weekend on our lifegroup retreat. I am beyond excited to spend a whole weekend with my loves!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 12:27 pm

    You’re blog sounds very interesting! Officially following you! :)
    http://www.loveNiki.com

  2. Mama permalink
    September 14, 2012 1:15 pm

    Ephesians 2:10! We were created with loving purpose…God does not make junk!

  3. September 14, 2012 9:54 pm

    love this. love you.

  4. September 16, 2012 8:52 am

    love you. you’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

