Skip to content

california tourist: carmel and monterey.

September 5, 2012

Oh. My. Goodness. I’m excited to share these pictures with you. California is beautiful!

Like I said in my last post, we took our sweet time driving back home from Northern California.

Our first stop was Carmel.

The first item on my agenda was to hit the beach. Colby’s first item was to find Brad Pitt’s house there. (Guess who got their way? ;)

We had a sweet picnic and spent some time soaking up rays and talking about the future (community houses, babies, and missions, OH MY!). The water was beautiful and looked inviting, but it was actually f-r-e-e-z-i-n-g.

We stumbled upon the Carmel Mission which provided a presh photo-op.

We ate an amazing Mexican dinner at a sweet little nook hidden in Monterey.

I love sand dunes. I loved Monterey for this reason. We spent some time exploring the beach there, and then headed to do the 17-mile drive.

I heard mixed reviews about the 17-mile drive, but we thought it was really great. I think part of the reason why it was so awesome was because we went at sunset. The drive provided spectacular views of the coast, especially in the waning sunlight.

The morning we left I snapped a few pictures of the Carmel Fireplace Inn, the bed and breakfast where we stayed. It was a sweet, clean, fresh, affordable little place. We would recommend it.

   

Stay tuned for pictures from Big Sur (amazing) and SLO. :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    September 5, 2012 4:55 pm

    One day, we are gonna go out to California.

  2. Victoria permalink
    September 5, 2012 5:13 pm

    Chelsea!! You are coming onto my turf….ok well just where most of us Fresnans go for a beach getaway. And please tell me you went to Splash Cafe in SLO. I guess I will have to wait for that blog post but if not you need to go back to Pismo Beach and eat at Splash Cafe. The line will always look long but goes fast and its worth the wait (clam chowder)!

  3. Mama permalink
    September 5, 2012 5:26 pm

    Looks so great!

  4. September 5, 2012 8:49 pm

    1) that salad in the second pic looks DELISH
    2) that deer picture made me LOL
    3) sooo pumped for our community house! and babies. and missions.

  5. September 6, 2012 7:06 pm

    L-O-V-E Carmel and your pics! :D

  6. September 29, 2012 6:37 pm

    im 6.5 months pregnant. the pictures of the food you have are just killing me right now at 9:35pm. ive never had mike run out this late to get me a meal. but im dieing for mexican like colby had now. Thanks! this is too much.

Leave a Reply

