Skip to content

the sailor’s hymn.

August 26, 2012

When Colby and I were up in Palo Alto visiting my sister and her new husband, we visited our cousins’ church. The worship team played this amazing hymn, and I have not been able to get it out of my head. Today I was on Spotify (which, by the way, is so cool), and found this beautiful version of it by BiFrost Arts. I had to share.

I love the imagery and words used in old hymns. This is such a good one.

Jesus, Savior, pilot me

Over life’s tempestuous sea;
Unknown waves before me roll,
Hiding rock and treacherous shoal.
Chart and compass come from Thee;
Jesus, Savior, pilot me.

Though the sea be smooth and bright,
Sparkling with the stars of night,
And my ships path be ablaze
With the light of halcyon days,
Still I know my need of Thee;

As a mother stills her child,
Thou canst hush the ocean wild;
Boisterous waves obey Thy will,
When Thou sayest to them, Be still!
Wondrous Sovereign of the sea,
Jesus, Savior, pilot me.
Jesus, Savior, pilot me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    August 27, 2012 11:48 am

    Love it.

  2. September 29, 2012 7:35 am

    Greetings from Wordwise Hymns. I posted an article on this hymn yesterday, so your post caught my eye. I smiled at your comment about this hymn (“I have not been able to get it out of my head.”) I suppose that’s one of the purposes of our hymns and gospel songs. We sing them when we get together, and later they bring their message back to us again and again.

    I wasn’t quite as enthusiastic about the version of the hymn you included. Seems rather monotonous. In my own opinion, John Gould’s original tune, Pilot, is better.

Leave a Reply

