Skip to content

my tribe.

August 23, 2012

Months before moving out to California, one of my biggest prayer requests was that the Lord would provide community for Colby and I. Colby, despite having lived in California since college, was moving to a brand new city, and I was moving across the country knowing no one except my dear husband. I knew that without a community, I would be in a bad spot.

Seth Barnes talks about how we need to find our tribe. He says, “Tribes are groups of people held together by common interests and values…whenever people are earnestly seeking and following Jesus, there is a tribe. We share a common Lord, a common purpose, a common spirit, and a common vision for loving others. Many Jesus-followers may not live at this level, but a yearning to find our tribe and to belong to it lives deep within us all.”

I just want to say PRAISE GOD because he has provided above and beyond for me. It began with meeting Katie and Kevin, and we decided to start a lifegroup together. Then came Nate-dawg and Arthur, and a little later Trevin, Kami, Hillary, and Meki.

These are amazing people. We meet together every Wednesday (and often times on the weekends) to discuss God’s word, hang out, and share life together. I think back to a year ago when I would freak out around 9pm, thinking about how everyone I knew was sleeping (on the east coast), or how I would cry (kind of often) because I was so lonely. I feel so blessed and thankful that now I have people in my life. People to text at any time, to make plans with, to email when I have a special prayer request…the list goes on. I am so convinced that life is meant to be lived with other people, being fully known and fully loved. I love this group of people, and I have nothing but excitement for our continued growth and the places that God will take us together.

…not to mention that we dominate, and may or may not have taken first place at the Rock Harbor Fullerton Olympics last week.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    August 23, 2012 9:53 am

    So happy for all of you! And I can’t wait to meet the rest of the tribe.

  2. August 23, 2012 2:55 pm

    BOO-YA to first place baby!!!!

    and ps- i may or may not have shed a sweet little tear over this! GOD IS GOOD!
    so proud of you for killin’ it at teaching today, mrs Long!
    love ya
    Katie

  3. August 24, 2012 8:08 am

    aw YAY this makes me so happy

Leave a Reply

