Skip to content

summer is for: surfing.

August 19, 2012

I’ve lived in California for over a year now (for real!?), and I’ve basically turned into a sunshine-spoiled California girl who loves In ‘N’ Out and wears scarves and hats in 60 degree weather. There was, however, one thing lacking before I completed my transformation. Namely, I needed to learn how to surf.

Real talk: Surfing is HARD. Haha, but seriously. Basically every time I go I have at least one wave that just….destroys me. I’m talking forget the neti pot because salt water is just rushing through my nose AND mouth, and when I’m done I feel like I ate a pack of saltines. And my arms get so tired (sometimes Colby paddles out while I hold on to his leash). And every time I come home from surfing I feel like I just got run over by a truck.

I wish I could tell you how awesome I am at surfing, after going somewhat consistently over the past 3 months, but it’s just not the truth. Surfing is hard to learn and hard to master. I will say that I’ve been able to catch waves and stand up at least once (lots of times more than once) each time that we’ve gone out to surf. I will also say that surfing is seriously so fun, and I love being out in the water.

If anyone wants to come out and visit, you can go surfing with me and Colby (read: you and I can sit on our boards and laugh and talk and watch the sunset while Colby mostly surfs). Can’t wait!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 7:51 am

    i’ll watch the sun set with you!

Leave a Reply

