Skip to content

witnesses of love.

July 7, 2012

Is it okay that I consider Henri Nouwen a dear friend of mine? Am I allowed to call someone that I’ve never met a “dear friend” ? I think so, because I hope to meet him in heaven and become quite close with him. His words inspire me on nearly a daily basis. If you’d like to sign up to recieve his daily meditation, you can do so here.

“How do we know that we are infinitely loved by God when our immediate surroundings keep telling us that we’d better prove our right to exist?

The knowledge of being loved in an unconditional way, before the world presents us with its conditions, cannot come from books, lectures, television programs, or workshops. This spiritual knowledge comes from people who witness to God’s love for us through their words and deeds. These people can be close to us but they can also live far away or may even have lived long ago. Their witness announces the truth of God’s love and calls us to act in accordance with it.”

May we be witnesses of God’s love for each other!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    July 7, 2012 11:53 am

    You two are witnesses of God’s love for me! Thank you.

  2. July 9, 2012 4:01 pm

    well I call him Henri on my blog, so i’m absolutely on a first name basis with him! haha…LOVE IT!

  3. July 17, 2012 1:29 pm

    I can’t believe you love him too! With his book “Turn My Mourning Into Dancing: Finding Hope in Hard Times,” he has taught me how to rely on God despite overwhelming obstacles and unquenchable pain. If you haven’t read that one, I highly recommend it. He writes like he’s writing to a friend, and he gently paints pictures that leaves us unable to deny the presence of God and His undying love for us. Truly a gift. Beautiful quote – thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

