Skip to content

the eating project: month ten.

June 8, 2012

I know, I know. It’s June 8, and this was supposed to be our May restaurant. And to be honest, we didn’t go to a Cambodian restaurant until June 6. Fail. I think the problem was that when we were in Cambodia we ate the same pork and rice or eggs and beef or rice soup. EVERY DAY. I thought I would die if I ate that same pork and rice another time. When we weren’t in our tiny village eating pork and rice, we were in Phnom Penh stuffing our faces with KFC and pizza. All that to say that we didn’t really have a lot of experience with Cambodian food. I think we were both a little nervous about what we were getting ourselves into.

We went to this place called Trieu Chau in Santa Ana.

I’m not joking, that’s what it looked like. If the review on Yelp weren’t so amazing, I never would have gone there. But I’m so glad we did!!

   

First of all, it was kind of a hybrid Cambodian/Vietnamese/Chinese place. So to be honest I don’t know if what we ate was Cambodian, truly. But I guess there’s some mixing of food cultures going on there, so it’s cool. I did spy a Khmer menu up on the wall. Colby told me that I should have just walked up to that and pointed to something random for my order. Um, scary.

We loved it here! It was super authentic, and really crowded with mostly Asian people. We saw this as a good sign for the authenticity rating. And all of these random jars of spices and sauces? Definitely something you would typically see in Cambodia/Thailand/Vietnam.

   

Colby ordered chicken fried rice, and I ordered beef chow fun. I accidentally just typed “beef chow yum.” Because it was SO YUM. I’m serious. The reviews on Yelp kept saying how this was like comfort food for them from grandma’s kitchen. I didn’t expect that because my grandma usually ordered pizza during my childhood– she didn’t really ever cook up some rice noodles. But this was honestly so delicious and comforting; it really hit the spot. Look at those greens! So good!

   

And we had leftovers, which I consumed the following day for lunch. Delicious!

   

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2012 11:04 am

    That rice looks so yummy!!! I love reading about your restaurant adventures!

  2. June 8, 2012 11:26 am

    I have loved reading all of your restaurant adventures. Excited for month 11

  3. June 8, 2012 11:54 am

    i’m pretty sure i gained 5 pounds in cambodia eating the mac and cheese/popcorn chicken thing and then going over next door and drinking an iced coffee. actually, i think i sweated it all out. kfc definitely reminds me of cambodia. haha

  4. Maria permalink
    June 8, 2012 12:41 pm

    The food looks delicious. Glad it turned out good for you.

Leave a Reply

