Skip to content

the eating project: month nine.

April 30, 2012

This is part of our Eating Project. To check out where else we’ve eaten in the past 9 months, click here.

Now that we’ve finally made it out of Africa and on to Asia, I’m a much happier camper.

We spent month nine in a hotel  with air conditioning and internet in the heart of the touristy part of Ho Chi Minh City . It was glorious. I was pretty crazy in love with Colby at that point in time, but still had no idea of our eventual destiny.  The two of us went to a wedding of these random Vietnamese people with one of our ministry contacts. We met a man at the wedding who was a Gideon. He loved that Colby and I were missionaries, and he kept referring to Colby as my husband. I tried to correct him, but it was a lost cause. I guess he was on to something…

(ps: us with the happy couple…the bride is in the pink dress, in case the tiara didn’t tip you off)

Anyways, the food! I loved the food in Saigon! We were able to get a per diem for our food and just eat from street vendors and such. Some highlights were Banh Mi (which is a sandwich of eggs or meat and vegetables on a baguette), smoothies, and this delicious and super cheap pork and rice. Also that month we went to the Hard Rock Cafe. We needed a little American food!

For this month’s adventure we headed over to Little Saigon in Westminster, about 20 minutes from our place.

It really was like a mini-Vietnam, with everything written in Vietnamese, and South Vietnam flags up on every lamp pole. I did think that they would need a ton more power lines to make it look more authentic…Ho Chi Minh was crazy with the cables!

I found out about this restaurant through yelp.com once again. It had really high ratings, so I thought we should just go for it!

   

The atmosphere was nice. It was a super tiny family owned place. The waiter was so friendly! He gave us recommendations off the menu and then throughout the meal kept giving us suggestions for what to dip in which sauce, asking us if we liked it, generally chatting us up. We of course loved it. Colby got fried egg rolls, I got some sort of plate with lots of super delicious chicken, shrimp, and broken rice (“comfort food” as our waiter said), and we got some spring rolls to share.

  

10/10 for presentation, right? Although we did laugh about how the lettuce took up a huge part of Colby’s plate. Everything was so good…especially my food. It’s funny because they are known for their pork spring rolls, and we were definitely a little weirded out be them because they were basically half a hotdog with some cucumber, lettuce, and carrots, wrapped up in rice paper. Not that I didn’t like it, but I just didn’t realize pork meant hotdog. But it must just be the common thing since the restaurant had so many reviews raving about it. I don’t know. Maybe they pulled a fast one on us.

  

All in all, really nice experience. Did I mention our total bill was under 20 dollars? I would definitely come back to get the delicious food that I ate again!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 9:18 am

    Jealous!

  2. April 30, 2012 10:09 am

    oh! i would recommend Broddard, it’s a well-known hidden gem in Garden Grove (literally: it’s hidden in an alley) but their shrimp spring rolls are to die for! it’s on the intersections of Brookhurst St. and Westminster St. behind 99cents store. The alley looks super sketch at night, so I recommend going during daylights if it’s your first time. Beware, this place can be super packed on the weekend and the wait can be long, but it’s so worth it!

    • April 30, 2012 10:10 am

      yeah! i heard of that place, but decided to go here instead…some people said their spring rolls were better!! haha. thanks for the tip!

  3. May 6, 2012 12:11 pm

    Chels we’ll have to do month 11 while I’m there after all we were in Thailand together :) Can’t wait to see you and Colbs!!!! (My heart is super happy)

    • May 6, 2012 2:32 pm

      tooootally. it’s soo fun doing the eating project with world race friends! i can’t wait :):):)

  4. Irene Dương permalink
    May 14, 2012 4:04 pm

    You get to to Little Saigon!!!! I miss SoCal and I miss you. I love reading your blog and your eating adventures in and around my old stomping grounds.

Leave a Reply

