Skip to content

summer is for: pleasure reading.

April 28, 2012

I’m so excited for summer, as mentioned in my last blog post. I haven’t read a whole book since January when I had almost the whole month off of school for winter break. Currently I’m working my way through Ann Voskamp’s book One Thousand Gifts. I’m still loving it so much–it’s the type of book that demands to be read slowly, savoring each drop and letting it marinate through my thoughts.

Here’s a few books I hope to read this summer:

Mudhouse Sabbath–I read her book Girl Meets God a couple of years ago and really liked it. Of course with my fascination with Jewish culture, her story of converting from Judaism to Christianity was interesting to me. Some things that I read in that book have stuck with me, so I’m excited to read this one by her. It came recommended by my friend April.

You Know When the Men Are Gone–I heard about this one on NPR I think, a while back. It’s a collection of stories about families who have given up their men to fight in the conflict in the Middle East. Should be an interesting read, and something that will help me broaden my view, since no one close to me has been in war recently.

7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess–This one is blowing up in Christian circles…it’s kind of the new “it” book. Of course I have to jump on board. Also, I’ve heard good things about it. As someone who is always into the idea of living simply, I’m excited to see Jen Hatmaker’s observations. Plus, I’m into the idea of “experiments” with trying to literally live out the commands of Jesus.

Everything Belongs–This book came recommended by Seth Barnes, the founder of AIM and the World Race. He’s a wise guy, and so I think I’ll take him up on this one. The title itself draws me in. Can’t wait to dig into this.

Wanderlust: A Love Affair with Five Continents–I think I heard about this one on NPR, too. Can’t quite remember. As someone who loves to travel, I think this will be a fun read. Maybe I can get it to read when Colby and I are on our East Coast road trip this summer.

Those are just a few of the books that I want to read. If you want to check out more of what I’m interested in, you can check out my “books to read” board on Pinterest. (Disclaimer: I haven’t read any of these books yet, hence why they’re on my “to read” list. Sorry if there’s something on there that is not appropriate or something…how could I know, since I haven’t read them yet? Ha.)

***

What’s the best book you’ve read lately? I’m always up for suggestions to pin to my board. Leave it in the comments!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

