Skip to content

jack and rose and the afterlife.

April 23, 2012

The other day I went with my friend Meredith to see Titanic in 3D. Colby thanked her for going with me because he didn’t want to (although I can’t understand why). Titanic is one of those movies that just isn’t the same at home. I took my chance to see it in all it’s glory once again. I could go on about how much I like this movie. It’s so epic and beautiful and fun and romantic and sad.

(photo via)

When I was there something that I had never thought of before occurred to me. I bet we’ll see some people who died on the Titanic in heaven. Weird thought, I know. But it started me down this rabbit trail of thinking about all the crazy things that have happened throughout history, and how in heaven, there will be people there who lived through all sorts of things. I got really excited thinking about the amazing conversations I’ll get to have with such interesting people. I have no idea what our earthly memories will be like in heaven (and I have no concept really of what we will do in heaven…I don’t know if we’ll sit around and talk about our lives on earth or if that will be lame? Are we going to be psyched up about singing worship songs forever and ever?), but it’s hard for me to imagine people objectively talking about their horrific experiences without a trace of sadness (which for me equates to crying). Yet we all know the Eric Clapton song, and in Revelation 7:17, it says, “God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”

It’s so lovely to think about God himself wiping away my tears. I’m a crier as many of you probably know. I cry when I’m sad, when I’m stressed, when I’m happy, when I’m excited…I just…cry. It’s hard for me to embrace this about myself, but I’m learning that I would rather be authentic with how I’m feeling than to swallow my emotions. But sometimes my tears are inconvenient and I wish there was a way I could turn them off or there was a way that I could feel less.

I just discovered this Charles Spurgeon sermon from August 6, 1865 entitled “No Tears in Heaven.” He says about those saints in heaven, “Why should they weep, when their every desire is gratified? They cannot wish for anything which they will not have. Eye and ear, heart and hand, imagination, hope, desire, will, every faculty will be satisfied. All they could ever wish or imagine will continually be enjoyed. Though ‘No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him,’ yet they know enough, by the revelation of the Spirit, to understand that they are supremely blessed. The joy of Christ, which is an infinite fullness of delight, is in them. They bathe themselves in the bottomless, spacious sea of Infinite Bliss.”

Love this for my sleepy Monday morning meditations.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 9:21 am

    …I love when you cry. And I’m happy Meredith went with you to see Titanic (though secretly I wish it had been me.)

  2. April 23, 2012 9:32 am

    I have been playing with the idea of going to see Titanic by myself. And I’m glad that someone else is a crier like me. Do you ever go see the Earth Day Disney Movies? Last year I went and saw African Cats on Earth Day and I wept almost the entire time.

  3. April 23, 2012 12:06 pm

    “or there was a way that I could feel less.” so true. I think what Charles Spurgeon said is beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

