Skip to content

i’m so LOST.

April 9, 2012

So…this happened the other day:

After 3 months of watching LOST multiple nights a week and on most days off (holla at President’s Day, my birthday, spring break), thinking about it in my spare time, and actually saying, “I’m looking forward to when we finish LOST so that I can have my life back,” we’ve finally finished. AND I’M SO CONFUSED. This post is going to contain spoilers, so for those of you who haven’t watched the show and don’t want anything ruined, I’m going to put a nice picture of some of the cast at the Emmy Awards, and then after the picture I’m going to say some unfiltered comments, so consider yourselves warned. If you don’t want to hear the spoilers, now’s your chance to go!

Okay. Basically the first thing that I really want to say is did anyone else think it was really lame that in the last episode, the thing that made everyone remember about the Island was love? I mean, come on. I love love and all, but I just thought it was pretty weird that all they had to do was look into each others eyes and then all of a sudden flashes of everything came back and then they would start making out or speaking English, or whatever.

Secondly (which probably should have been firstly, but I just needed to get that other thing off my chest), what the heck happened? I felt super haunted by the very last thing they showed when the credits were rolling. Was that the original flight 815 from Sydney? And the birds were just chirping and NO ONE WAS ALIVE? I mean. I just…really couldn’t fall asleep that night thinking about the fact that the whole time I was watching this show, it was just a bunch of dead people. I’ve been googling around trying to get answers, and…I guess most people think that the Island was some form of purgatory? Or…that the parallel universe that would have happened if the plane never crashed was purgatory? I just…don’t know.

Thirdly, was Jacob supposed to be god? And the smoke monster/Locke/smokey (I just love Sawyer’s nicknames…freckles, blondie, chesty, sheena, babar, etc etc) was supposed to be the devil? What am I supposed to think about Christian Shepherd? Is Desmond Jesus? Am I overspiritualizing this?

Can someone give me some answers? Or just your best guesses? Please. I’m dying. I might spend the rest of my life reading through the whole Lostpedia.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2012 4:36 pm

    Aggghh, I just finished Lost too! Why didn’t we watch it on the Race? We could have used it in Cambodia. Anyway. I’m still confused by a number of things. Forwarding this blog to my super Lost enthusiast friend.

  2. April 9, 2012 6:43 pm

    Okay, so my understanding (and I think a lot of it was purposefully left ambiguous) was that everything you saw on the island really happened. Everything you saw in the flash forwards of the last season, where no one seemed to remember anyone – happened after they each died. They didn’t all die at the same time, which was why Ben and Hurley talked about having worked together for years. When they all finally got together in the final episode, that was them each acknowledging that it was time to finally move on. Because they were all such huge parts of each others lives, they moved on together.

  3. April 10, 2012 1:14 am

    Ah, The End. I remember watching it on the balcony at the YWAM base in Phnom Penh, then turning to Ken and asking, “WHAT THE CRAP JUST HAPPENED.”

    One notable thing about the end of LOST as opposed to just about any other ending to anything I’ve ever seen is that there is an infinite number of endings that one could adopt to explain LOST. This is because the subject matter, while particulars, is also relevant to individuals and humankind as a whole.
    I’ve heard dozens of theories, including the whole purgatory thing, and if someone sees it that way, it can be made as valid of a metaphor as any other theory out there. If you can watch it through and formulate an idea consistent with the themes (which isn’t hard, since they are tied to loosely enough to major religions and philosophies that most of the world ascribes to in one way or another) then the ending can be representative of whatever you prove it to be… Which a LOT of people hated, because they wanted a universal ending that wrapped up every question into a packaged answer and that explained every mystery in a logical, fulfilling way.

    However, LOST constantly juxtaposes faith and logic. In the end, logic cares about the details and the process; faith cares about the big picture and the people. Consistently, I found that the people least satisfied with the ending were people who had devoted six years to making theories based on everything from physics to ancient mythology and had no answers for the things they painstakingly tried to explain. However, the people who cared more about it as a metaphor for spiritual things like love, faith, and hope, found it more satisfying because the unanswered questions, dead-ends, and the unexplained phenomena were secondary to the destinies that all the characters found in love.

    I mean, I was disappointed at first (mainly because I had been telling EVERYONE that Walt was the linchpin, the core, the meaning behind everything even though I couldn’t exactly figure out how aside from a few careful observations and a gut feeling) and then, all of a sudden, NO WALT. I mean, for all the build-up, NOTHING happened with it, and I couldn’t unstick myself from that feeling of disappointment for a while. But when I looked at the experience of LOST, especially since I was at the end of the Race, I understood it so much better.

    We get angry, frustrated, sulled-up and closed-off when we don’t get the answers we want. But what about faith promises us the answers? God used the parallels of LOST to show me a lot about my own agenda at justifying my anger when I don’t get the answers I want.

    As a TV series, maybe the ending sucked, depending on who you ask. As a very in-depth look at the matters of faith in a logical world, a LOT can actually be meditated on and learned from. That is why, to me, LOST is a spiritual experience first and a TV series second.

  4. April 10, 2012 1:20 am

    Bahaha oh man. I watched the last episode of LOST on the race with Geoff and I’m pretty sure we got into a fight about it…

    at this point I erase seasons 5 and 6 of LOST from my memory and then I’m okay.

  5. Judy permalink
    April 10, 2012 8:05 am

    Hey lady! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award!! Congrats and have fun with it :o)

    http://jesusmommy.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/and-the-nominees-are/

  6. Julie Broome permalink
    April 17, 2012 1:43 pm

    So my LOST obsession began right after Season 3 aired and my college roommates told me I HAD to watch this show. And as any LOST fan knows, you start watching and you’re hooked! ;)

    My best attempt at an explanation of things on the show does not come solely from me but rather from one of the close friends of those same college roommates. My roommate Jill is great friends with a guy who had spoken several times with the writers behind LOST and pretty much devoted his life at the time to writing an in-depth blog entry on the episodes. He shares a detailed summary of the episode, his own thoughts & theories, and good links to other well-written LOST blogs. I began reading it in conjunction while the show was still airing but hopefully it can either highlight some thoughts or at the very least provide another great addition to a fellow LOST fan obsession :)

    Here’s his blog: http://www.johnlockespants.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

