Skip to content

welcome, april.

April 4, 2012

It’s always hard to know where to start after I’ve neglected my blog for a somewhat significant amount of time.

All I can say is that March was like a tornado to my world. Eighteen days of visitors, countless hours of school work, and one whole week that I dropped everything to be with my family at the end of my grandfather’s life.

What a hard thing that was. And yet, the Lord brought so much beauty. Such a reminder to me of where my priorities should be. We encountered holy moments incomparable to any family experience that we’ve had as we sat around Grandpa’s bed on the last day of his life. We sang songs, prayed, read scripture, laughed, cried, and I couldn’t help but think to myself, there’s nowhere else in the world I’d rather be right now. They were moments where we were reaching up and pulling heaven down to earth, and I’ll treasure them–all of us together, with the single goal of blessing my grandpa and blessing the Lord through those last hours.

As I flew home to the West Coast, I meditated on God’s goodness, as described by David in Psalm 68 (vv. 4-6, 19-20).

Sing to God, sing in praise of his name, 
   extol him who rides on the clouds; 
   rejoice before him—his name is the LORD. 
A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, 
   is God in his holy dwelling. 
God sets the lonely in families,
   he leads out the prisoners with singing; 
   but the rebellious live in a sun-scorched land.

 Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, 
   who daily bears our burdens. 
Our God is a God who saves; 
   from the Sovereign LORD comes escape from death. 

And I believe it. God is good. I’m currently reading One Thousand Gifts, and I’m learning more of his goodness. Ann Voskamp says, “I have lived pain, and my life can tell: I only deepen the wound of the world when I neglect to give thanks…Rejecting joy to stand in solidarity with the suffering doesn’t rescue the suffering. The converse does. The brave who focus on all things good and all things beautiful and all things true, even in the small, who give thanks for it and discover joy even in the here and now, they are the change agents who bring fullest Light to all the world. When we…let joy soak into our broken skin and deep crevices, life grows. How can this not be the best thing for the world? For us?”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. chad jowers permalink
    April 4, 2012 8:03 am

    Chelsea, I seriously loved this. It makes me so happy when, even in the hardest of times, His children praise Him.

    We loved seeing you guys and are praying constantly for the fam and to keep praising!

  2. Anna Notario permalink
    April 4, 2012 8:11 am

    mmm. i love this. so sweet to my soul. love you.

  3. April 4, 2012 10:22 am

    beautiful.

  4. April 4, 2012 4:35 pm

    So good.

  5. meg permalink
    April 20, 2012 2:36 pm

    just checking up on you here. miss you!!! i just finished reading one thousand gifts too. :)

Leave a Reply

