Skip to content

easy peasy DIY: watercolor greeting cards.

March 15, 2012

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, and this one has been brewing for some time.

In November I met up with my friend Jolie at Easton Mall in Columbus, Ohio. Jenna was with me, too, so of course we went to Anthropologie. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE ANTHRO. The thing is, however, that I have a major lack of fundage to be able to buy anything other than, like, a handkerchief from that place (and my wedding dress, but, hey, a girl’s gotta splurge sometimes). I do love going there and soaking in the beauty, and also getting ideas for crafts that I can do. Have you heard of that website IKEA Hackers? I feel like I need to start one called Anthro Hackers. I just googled that and it doesn’t exist yet, so I feel like I’m probably sitting on a gold mine. Except now someone else will see this, take my idea, and get rich off it. Oops.

All that to say, when I was there, I saw these adorable greeting cards that were pretty simple, just watercolor on white cardstock. They were charging something like $8 a card, and I thought to myself, “I could make that.” Unfortunately, I can’t find a picture of what one looked like, so you’re gonna have to take my word for it.

Materials: A package of white cardstock/envelopes (I buy these at Michaels)
watercolor paint (mine was literally $0.99 from WalMart)
a white crayon
a glass of water/paper towel
a paintbrush.

Time committment: You could make one in like…2 minutes, or you could make a lot in a longer amount of time. It’s really fun!

Step 1) Decide what you want to write on the front of the card. I don’t have the cutest handwriting, so I decided to google and see what I could come up with as far as inspiration. I found a few things that I liked here, here, and here. You could also design something for yourself in Photoshop or probably even Word, if you were so inclined.

Step 2) Draw your design. Mine were all words, but you can draw whatever you want. Remember that whatever you write in white crayon will be the part that shows up (it repels the watercolor paint!). For mine, I printed out the designs that I liked and put them up against the window to trace onto my cards.

Step 3) Paint! I combined a couple different colors…the hardest part is figuring out the amount of water you need. You don’t want too much, but you don’t want too little either. Play with it. At one point I had to wipe one of my cards off and start over with the paint, but that was fine.

Step 4) Dry. I let mine air dry, but they started to warp a little, so I placed them under a heavy book to flatten them out.

Step 5) Send them away to brighten someone’s day.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2012 9:50 am

    SO pretty!

  2. aunt deb permalink
    March 15, 2012 2:19 pm

    You could make cards and sell them on Etsy

  3. March 15, 2012 2:33 pm

    mine is tacked to our bulletin board:) love it.

  4. March 15, 2012 3:45 pm

    ohh love it. i’ll do this.

  5. March 17, 2012 11:24 pm

    This looks so cool! You’re so creative :)

  6. Judith permalink
    March 18, 2012 7:49 pm

    That is amazing! I’ve got to sit down and try this.

  7. March 20, 2012 11:22 am

    You are so creative! : ) These are really cool!

  8. Bethany vK permalink
    May 24, 2012 11:48 pm

    love this post chelsea! Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

