Skip to content

wearin’ o’ the green.

March 1, 2012

I love March. I’m so happy it’s March! I love March because it’s my birthday month (is it cool to still get so excited about your birthday?). I think the reason I’ve loved March so much in the past is because I feel like my birthday is a spark of life in the middle of a dreary winter (drama). But seriously, I think you know what I mean. Winter drags on. And on. And on. Especially in Ohio, but I’m learning that winter in California gets a bit blah, too. The start of March gives me hope that I can at least make it to Easter…and when Easter comes, I feel like I’ve finally arrived into Spring. I can finally let out that breath I’ve been holding that comes from the weight of winter and the Lenten season.

Lately I’ve been loving Ann Voskamp’s blog. I can’t even remember how I discovered her, but I’m so glad that I did. Her post today is entitled, “How to make your March amazing.” I can’t tell you how much I love her thoughts. I’m not even going to summarize them, I’m just going to leave you with them…

It could be this in the middle of winter giving way to spring and the resurrection of everything.

It could be this in the middle of Lent:  March — the month to march around walls in our lives and pray for God to bring down everything that keeps us from Him.   

March — a 31 day march around the Jericho that’s keeping You from Jesus.

31 days to march around that one fear. March around that one worry. March around that one temptation. I know what my Jericho is. I name it. I will go home and I will write it down.

I don’t want anything to wall me out of His love. 

Crack every hard wall in me, God. 

My March will be this encircling march around that one thing keeping me from You. 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 8:24 pm

    i love march, too! i had an extra bounce in my step today because of it.

    march 2 is texas independence day. and also the first day of the year i get a pedicure. i’m so exciteddddd.

    oh and i got an email from the library today saying the book i’d reserved had come in. ann voskamp’s one thousand gifts! i don’t even remember who recommended it. was it you?

  2. March 5, 2012 12:20 pm

    looooooveeeee March too:)
    thanks for the Ann Voskamp reminder…I like the idea of marching until the walls come down. That really encouraged me a lot! Love you

  3. Donna permalink
    March 13, 2012 4:49 pm

    Chels, I love December and it is my birthday month and Christmas.

Leave a Reply

