Skip to content

fat tuesday musings.

February 21, 2012

image via revivalcenterfellowship.org

It’s a brisk (45º is cold here, guys) morning and I’m sipping my green tea and musing over the temple and sacrificial system that I’ve been reading about in Leviticus. It’s a far away concept for me, and there’s so much I don’t understand. I try to picture the temple–it just seems hazy, mystical, frightening. A room filled with smoke and blood and so many requirements. A people desperately trying to connect with their God with too much space between them.

“And Jesus cried out again with a loud voice and yielded up his spirit. And behold, the curtain of the temple was torn in two, from top to bottom” (Matthew 27:50-51).

Chills and tears of wonder. There’s still so much I don’t understand. I wrote in my journal the other day, “Reading in Exodus all of the directions from the Lord on how to build the temple. It’s so elaborate and crazy to think that they would create the whole thing and have to move it? And the other thing is the requirement of sacrifices. Blood, rams, bulls-2 lambs daily, morning and night. And now? I am the temple of the Lord. No blood necessary, save the blood that runs through my veins. No special rituals. To speak to the Lord, I have but to open my mouth. Lord help me to be keenly aware that my body is your temple. That you dwell in me. It’s such a privilege.”

This lenten season, I am sacrificing something to remind myself of the sacrifice Jesus made on my behalf. My true prayer  is that I would continue to grow in my awareness that the Spirit of the Lord is ever present within me. There’s so much power in that. There’s so much life in that.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    February 21, 2012 8:41 am

    This post reminds me of Mrs. Andrews at CVCA.

    There is so much richness in the details of the sacrifice system. So many reminders of His character and our appropriate response.

  2. Holland Cox permalink
    February 21, 2012 8:46 am

    i like this a lot

  3. Judith permalink
    February 21, 2012 11:10 am

    This is really good. Thank you!

  4. February 21, 2012 1:28 pm

    …I’m reading the same stuff these days. I love that we’re in it together even though we’re apart. LOVE YOU.

  5. February 21, 2012 11:01 pm

    you journal so beautifully.

Trackbacks

  1. manna. | pilgrimage.

Leave a Reply

