Skip to content

cooking with katie.

February 8, 2012

A few months ago, the Lord blessed me with a new friend named Katie. Meeting this girl was a huge answer to prayer. We met up one morning at Panera and found out within a couple of hours that we have a million things in common, including the same birthday, the same heart for missions/the world, and the same food sensitivities (and she and her husband got married a week after Colby and I did. The list goes on and on, people).

This is the moment when I knew we were going to be friends: After I met Katie and found out we have the same birthday, I told Colby, “I know this is so weird because I just met her, but it would be so fun if we had a birthday party together.” He laughed at me, but a week or so later we had Katie and her husband Kevin over for dinner. Katie and I got to chatting (for like 45 minutes…leaving our husbands to fend for themselves…), and she mentioned something about how she already imagined us planning a birthday party together and creating super cute invitations to send to our friends. I just laughed, unable to believe the kindred spirit who was sitting on my bed with me.

The Lord is so good for providing this dear friend. We have only known each other about 10 weeks,  but it feels like much longer. Kevin started playing basketball on Colby’s church league team, and the 4 of us are about to start leading a Bible study together through our church.

As I mentioned, we both avoid certain foods, namely gluten and dairy. We thought it would be fun to cook or bake together a couple times a month. G/D free recipes can be daunting with all their millions of weird ingredients (xanthum gum?? agave nectar??), but with a friend it seems so much more doable, and it’s a fun way to spend time together.

The first thing we made was Butternut Squash Mac n Cheese.

   

   

It turned out to be delicious, and I actually made it a second time. I don’t think it will go into the heavy meal rotation, but I will definitely keep it in mind for one of those weeks where I want to mix it up. You can check out the recipe from the link up there. The only thing we did different was we didn’t have the spice mix that she has, so we just kind of threw in some spices according to what we thought would be good. The flavor was very subtle, but it was a surprisingly convincing mac and cheese substitute. I think the fact that the butternut squash is orange like cheddar cheese helped in the brain trickery.

I can’t wait for future cooking adventures and more with Katie.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 10:14 am

    yay for friends and food!!

  2. Anna Notario permalink
    February 8, 2012 2:48 pm

    Um yessssh…. We eat gluten+sugar+vegan at my house (for reals. And there’s 7 girls). nom nom nom. love you.

  3. laur permalink
    February 8, 2012 5:17 pm

    oh i how i miss you cutie straight hair.

  4. laur permalink
    February 8, 2012 5:17 pm

    lol you hate typos. man.

  5. February 12, 2012 1:25 pm

    can we make this when i’m there? i waaaaant it.

  6. February 15, 2012 3:49 pm

    ahhhh Chels I’m so excited to cook tomorrow!!

    and…we better get going on those invites, eh? I’m thinking costume party all the way!!

Trackbacks

  1. my tribe. « pilgrimage.
  2. blessings to my dear friends. | pilgrimage.

Leave a Reply

