Skip to content

the eating project: month six.

January 30, 2012

I’m just going to give it to you straight.

It’s the end of January and we still haven’t done the Eating Project for this month. In the interest of full disclosure, I’m just going to tell you right now that we’re not doing it this month. First of all, we can’t find any specific Ugandan restaurants. Second of all, although we can find general “east African” restaurants, we honestly don’t want to eat at 3 different east African restaurants 3 months in a row. In February we’ll do Kenya as planned because we heard there’s a great Kenyan restaurant in Anaheim, but we don’t plan on doing Tanzania either.

You might wonder why we wouldn’t want to eat at 3 different east African restaurants in 3 months. Check this picture out:

Yeah, I don’t even know (edit: should I mention that this was something that was served to us in Kenya? Like, this picture came from my camera).

To be real, our food in Kenya was probably one of the top 5 food months on the World Race, but Uganda wasn’t so. Uganda was rough. We would eat lots of ugali (cornmeal mush) and collard greens and fish. When I say fish, I mean, real fish that still look 100% like fish. One day I was so sicked out because I walked outside and saw this platter with fish on it that was absolutely covered in flies. Guess what we had for dinner that night?

We lost a lot of weight that month. I was going to put this picture up of Colby looking so emaciated, but he really hates the picture, so I’ll spare him. Instead I’ll put this one up that I think is so cute. He’s holding up this reused water bottle that held ketchup or hot sauce at a restaurant. This is Africa.

And this next one is of me and Lacey. I think I look so sick, and actually I was really sick that day–you can see the Sprite I was sipping to help settle my stomach. We were at this restaurant called Kope Cafe, and, oh my goodness, they had the best food ever. Our favorite was called rolex, which were basically breakfast burritos. Heaven.

The food often left much to be desired, but, oh, how I long to be in that place of desperation in which I heard so clearly from the Lord. Africa is a place of such apparent brokenness–there’s nowhere to hide, no way to cover up–and it was there that I found the freedom to allow Jesus to heal much of the brokenness that I carried in my heart. Giving up physical food for the Bread of Life was absolutely worth it in the long run.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 11:31 am

    My race starts in Africa. I guess they wanted to start our route off with a bang. Can’t wait for whatever is in picture #1.

  2. lace permalink
    January 30, 2012 11:51 am

    That first picture almost made me puke. no joke.
    love that i made it on your blog. ;) I was just thinking the other night how i miss africa starry nights.

  3. January 30, 2012 1:30 pm

    that first picture? ew. i don’t blame you guys for only going to one place.

    i used to like taking the fish heads and i’d make them talk. i think maybe to aubrey or don?

    africa. so hard. so many tears. so many trips to the squatty. but so much growth. sigh.

  4. January 30, 2012 10:23 pm

    Shoot girl – you gave me the chills. Love that we were together through it all in Kenya…I remember those intestines well.

  5. Mama permalink
    January 31, 2012 7:41 am

    Hope…praying for you!

    Chelsea, there’s so much I don’t know about your race experience. I hope we get to really debrief when I come to visit.

Leave a Reply

