Skip to content

Disney, mostly.

January 16, 2012

Life gets busy and then I forget that I have a blog that I like writing on. I’m actually still on winter break and it has been glorious. I have been catching up on all the annoying details of life that one never likes to spend time on when one is hopelessly busy during the craziness of the school semester. My only one wish is that Colby was still on break. I guess you can’t have your cake and eat it, too.

But, yes, I’ve been initiated into the wonderful world of Disneyland. As someone who grew up in Ohio and has never experienced the magic of Disney World or Disneyland, I’m awed, really. The first few times Colby and I went (we got annual passes for Christmas), it was still over break for schools around here, and it was super crowded. I actually got a little cynical and said, “This would not be the happiest place on earth for someone who hates crowds.”

  

Today all was redeemed. Although it was a holiday, we got to the park early, and were able to ride some of the favorites with lines less than 30 minutes long. Disney is so cool. The rides are incredibly detailed and realistic. I’m like a little kid there; I gasped today when I saw Winnie the Pooh. It’s just strange to look over and see someone who you watched on movies your whole childhood…I mean, it’s like seeing a celebrity. I haven’t seen Ariel yet, but I will one day.

It’s kind of really awesome having the annual pass and living 15 minutes away because there’s no pressure. If we go and it’s a bust, we can feel free to leave. When you just go for the day, there’s so much pressure to get the most out of the day because you spent so much money ($80.00 for one park for one day!!!). Then if there’s crowds and you’re hot and tired, you feel obligated to stay and stand in long lines to get your money’s worth. It’s fun, too, because some of our very best friends have passes, as well, so we get to plan Disney outings with them! Love. I’m excited for all of the magical moments that will transpire this year under the watchful eye of Walt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 4:16 pm

    oh yes. i have experienced this wonderful world while in college. i miss it. having a pass is so great .and so worth it when youre that close. glad you two are enjoying it! :)

  2. January 16, 2012 4:31 pm

    Yeah!!! Can’t wait for more Disney dates when the rides are ACTUALLY open and the lines are SHORT! haha, last week was almost comical…almost. Let’s go again soon, and can’t wait to see you tonight. You and Colby better get your game faces on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. January 16, 2012 9:14 pm

    We saw Ariel!! Nearly 4 years ago when the girls were 2 and 4, and they still talk about seeing her and Nemo there!! Lovely memories for you two!

  4. January 19, 2012 3:12 pm

    Love the Toledo hoody you’re rockin’ :-)

Leave a Reply

