Skip to content

the eating project: month five.

December 22, 2011

It’s hard to believe that we are already in Turkey. Colby and I always say that it was one of our favorite months on the Race for selfish reasons. We loved the city of Istanbul, but ministry there is so tough. It was rainy and dark, and we crammed 6 people into a moldy one-bedroom apartment. I wrote a blog around this time last year about how hard that month was. In that blog I said that I had no idea where I would be a year from then. Here I am, blogging from California. It’s kind of crazy, Christmas in California this year, Ohio last year, and Turkey the year before.

For the Eating Project this month, we went to a restaurant in Fullerton called Pita Hot. Some friends recommended it to us because of the cheap, yummy food. Colby and I were also really excited because our World Race friend Callan was in town, so we decided to include him on our adventure.

When we first walked in, we were hit with a sewage smell. In case you didn’t know, that basically is the worst thing you can smell when you walk into a place where you’re about to eat. We actually had to go outside to regroup before we decided what to do. Surprisingly, we decided to stick it out–we figured that it was a pretty authentic World Race experience so we should just go with it.

  

The food was actually delicious. I got the kefta plate, with a side of tabbouleh and hummus. Also the food was really cheap. It was like, 5 dollars for one plate. I’m not sure on the exacts because Colby paid for it. Can anyone tell that I would be a GREAT food blogger for a living? I took a picture of my food and I realized that it doesn’t look so delectable, so then I didn’t take a picture of anyone else’s. But I did take a picture of Callan with his mouth full, so here’s that.

  

Lastly, what would a trip to Turkey be without some good ole hookah? Nothing, right? That’s what I thought. Luckily Pita Hot had an affiliated business called Twilight Hookah Lounge. Great name, since Twilight is all the rage these days. This place was pretty awesomely sketch, though. The couches we sat on were all ripped up and I’m pretty sure some were duct-taped.  Colby, Callan, and I were the only customers, and then there were just a bunch of random people/workers (??) sitting around watching the movie Limitless. I’m pretty sure Callan hated every minute that we were inside that dark, smoky place. Actually, I look pretty sketched out in the photo below (and full disclosure: this was on Friday–it’s Thursday and right now I’m wearing that same sweater). The only good thing about the experience was our waiter/hookah man. His name was Jess and he was so friendly. I really loved him. Also, I loved the hookah-smoking Santa. I mean, come on. Everyone knows Santa has a pipe.

  

Would I go back to the creepy Twilight Lounge? NO. To Pita Hot? YES! On the condition that they work on that plumbing issue because that smell was just…not okay. The price was right, and the food was yum.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2011 11:35 am

    i loved turkey…and the food. i miss my baklava salesdude BFF in izmir…it sure was “tough” evangelizing with that dude ;)

  2. December 22, 2011 7:18 pm

    boo turkey 2009, yay pita hot 2011.

Leave a Reply

