Skip to content

the purpose of pain.

November 20, 2011

“All praise to the God and Father of our Master, Jesus the Messiah! Father of all mercy! God of all healing counsel! He comes alongside us when we go through hard times, and before you know it, he brings us alongside someone else who is going through hard times so that we can be there for that person just as God was there for us.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

After watching the Diary of Anne Frank performed at my high school last night and hearing two incredible sermons this morning, I’m reminded that I don’t have the corner on suffering. Not even close. Not that I thought I did at all, but it’s still good for me to be grounded by these reminders.

I’m reminded that there’s purpose in every life situation.

I’m reminded to look outside my small life/small problems and try to figure out how I can bless others instead of looking out to be blessed myself.

I’m reminded to find out how I can meet others needs instead of trying to have my needs met.

I’m reminded that my role in each season of life is to wait on the Lord.

“How do we wait for God?  We wait with patience.  But patience does not mean passivity.   Waiting patiently is not like waiting for the bus to come, the rain to stop, or the sun to rise.  It is an active waiting in which we live the present moment to the full in order to find there the signs of the One we are waiting for. ” Henri Nouwen

“If there is a meaning in life at all, then there must be a meaning in suffering.” Victor Frankl

 

 

P.S. Dear Sisters, dear Husband, I’m ready for you to come join me in Ohio now. I can’t wait to celebrate Thanksgiving with all of you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

