Skip to content

wedding details.

November 17, 2011

I’ve been meaning to post a few pictures of my favorite little parts of our wedding and discuss ways that I kept our wedding costs to a minimum…here goes.

I had a lot of fun but also drove myself crazy with these little details. I was dedicated to keeping the wedding under 10K, and I did it (side note: if you think 10K is a lot to spend on a wedding, think again my friend. Google it…the average wedding in America costs around $27,000)! It was a bit of a hodge-podge of vintage/travel/whimsical themes, but at the end of the day, I was so pleased with the look of our venue and how everything came together.

A few ways that I met my budget: I created all the paper crafts/decor myself. This includes the invitations and the programs. I designed them, bought the paper wholesale, cut them out, and assembled them. Instead of buying flowers for the centerpieces, I used handmade pinwheels and wild Queen Anne’s Lace picked from the side of the road. For the boutineer, I made paper flowers and again combined them with wild Queen Anne’s Lace. I didn’t do this all on my own, though! My thanks again goes out to the girls who sat with me for hours and made pinwheels and paper airplanes and flowers! You girls made that chore fun. My sisters and my sister’s mother-in-law put together the boutineer and centerpieces the day of the wedding. My sister made the bunting for me.

I also borrowed, borrowed, and borrowed some more. The vintage encyclopedias stacked as part of the centerpieces were actually a set that my grandma wanted to get rid of. I borrowed the vintage suitcases from a dear friend. Two of my closest friends had their weddings a few months before mine, and I borrowed the mason jars and wine bottles from them. My mom started calling me the wedding bandit, because I would go to weddings and walk away with all sorts of things that I ended up using at our wedding!

Another way that I saved money was instead of having a cake, I asked close friends and family members to bake their favorite sweet treat and drop it off before the ceremony started. It was really fun to see what people came up with. My cousin Leila is practically a professional baker, and she made incredible cupcakes (pictured below). Thanks to everyone who brought something; it was such a hit. Plus, a cookie table at a wedding is such an Italian tradition–I loved being able to include that as part of our wedding.

     

   

   

   

   

My last piece of advice for any ladies out there who are planning their weddings: don’t be afraid to ask for help! At the beginning of the process, I was a bit of a control freak and had such a specific vision for everything. I felt like I was the only one who would be able to do anything having to do with the wedding. I soon realized that I needed to let it go and accept help. People love helping you out to pull off your vision for one of the most important days of your life. Let them in! I was so blessed and felt so amazingly loved and supported by everyone who came together to help pull our wedding off.

(Once again, all the photo cred. goes to Trudeau Bergen Photography. You guys are incredible!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

