Skip to content

rejecting the chaos.

November 8, 2011

I’ve been thinking about chaos the past few days. We’re reading through the entire Bible as a church community this year, and this past Sunday our pastor talked about the very beginning. In the beginning, there was darkness. There was chaos. God brought it to order, created perfection. You know how the story goes: we blew it.

Every human can probably agree that life is full of chaos. I know I see chaos in my life every day in the form of things I don’t understand in the physical, emotional, or spiritual realm. There are things that feel out-of-place or misaligned. It doesn’t all seem to fit and make sense to me. Sometimes I feel like it’s spiraling to somewhere I can’t reach, somewhere I can’t control.

One of my favorite bloggers is Jamie the Very Worst Missionary. Recently she wrote a post that I loved. She wrote, “I am a time bomb attached to an hourglass, the sands of anxiety spill through a tiny hole in my heart, collecting higher and higher. I’ll carry all this weight around with me, until that last bit of sand, the tiniest little thing, crushes my spirit. And then? Ka-boom!”

Does that resonate with anyone else?

Here’s the thing though–that’s not God’s desire for our lives. Not at all.

I’ve been spending some time just soaking in the Word for the past couple of days, looking for promises, anything that speaks to this. And to be honest, it’s all over in the words of Jesus.

If there’s anything that I learned from the World Race, it’s how to speak the words of truth and to claim them as my own by faith. So when I read something like, “We’ve been given a brand-new life and have everything to live for, including a future in heaven-and the future starts now! God is keeping careful watch over us and the future. The Day is coming when you’ll have it all-life healed and whole” (1 Peter 1:3-5), I’ve gotta believe it.

In Colossians 1:3-20 (ish) Paul says, “We look at this Son and see the God who cannot be seen. We look at this Son and see God’s original purpose in everything created. For everything, absolutely everything got started in him and finds its purpose in him. He was there before any of it came into existence and holds it all together right up to this moment. So spacious is he, so roomy, that everything of God finds its proper place in him without crowding. Not only that, but all the broken and dislocated pieces of the universe-people and things, animals and atoms-get properly fixed and fit together in vibrant harmonies, all because of his death, his blood that poured down from the Cross.”

Doesn’t that just make your soul sigh out of relief? Sure there’s the idea of the “already and the not yet,” but personally I want to start claiming the already. There will always be sickness and pain in a fallen world, but if we never pray for God’s Kingdom to come now, we might never get a chance to see it. I’m always taken back to the story of the persistent widow in Luke 18. Jesus said, “So what makes you think that God won’t step in and work justice for his chosen people, who continue to cry out for help? Won’t he stick up for them? I assure you, he will. He will not drag his feet. But how much of that kind of persistent faith will the Son of Man find on earth when he returns? (v.6-8)”

Lord, may you find that kind of faith in me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 8:40 am

    great post :)

  2. November 8, 2011 9:21 am

    preach it, sista.

    (no really – go to africa and PREACH IT.)

  3. Mama permalink
    November 8, 2011 9:50 am

    Good to read this today. I needed to re-focus.

    I want to live somewhere where all the details of any given day contribute to a glorious eternity. I want to be released from the mundane, and yet I know that Jesus is in the mundane as much as He is in the profound. Since He lives IN us…it doesn’t matter where we are…we are already in eternity. It’s news worth sharing.

  4. November 8, 2011 12:55 pm

    love this and I LOVED JTVWM’s post that you cited. P.S. did you arrange for ads to show up?

  5. November 8, 2011 12:55 pm

    haha hope. gets post post i’ve really been dwelling on the on earth as it is in heaven thing. it blows my mind.

  6. Anna Notario permalink
    November 10, 2011 8:16 am

    i love this. when i ”read sigh of relief”, I felt peace just melt everything in me.

Leave a Reply

