Skip to content

easy peasy DIY: cloth-covered cork board.

November 6, 2011

Yesterday I did a little home decorating project, and it seriously took me about an hour total to do. I had been meaning to do this for a while, because our dining room was looking pretty lackluster on one large, open wall.

this was my inspiration. so cute. love the shelf above, too!

Here’s what you need to make (my version) of cloth-covered cork boards.

For the above inspiration photo, she bought bulletin boards and popped the frame off of them.  I didn’t want to deal with that, so I just bought pieces of cork from Joanne Fabrics. I didn’t realize they were going to be so flimsy, so then I had to think of something to use as backing, to add stability. Luckily I found pieces of foam board at Walmart that were the exact size, so I didn’t have to deal with cutting them. The fabric is actually a Target curtain I found for like a buck fifty at Goodwill. Other than that, I just used a staple gun and a pair of scissors.

First step for me was just stapling the cork to the foam backing.

Then I had to cut a piece of fabric big enough to wrap around to the back of the foam board.

Then I just had to staple all around. I folded the corners in, kind of like you do when you’re wrapping a present. This was really the most important part of the process, because you have to make sure that the pattern is lined up and showing how you want it to and that the fabric is pulled evenly taut across the front. I didn’t want any loosey fabric hanging off anywhere.

And voilà! It was seriously easy as that.

To hang them on the wall, I kind of ghetto-ly stapled a loop of string on the back of each one and then hung it from that. I love how they turned out. It’s fun because now I can display anything I want on them…recipes to try, inspiration from the season, other decorating ideas, love notes, whatever! For now I hung this neat metal bunting that a friend got us as a wedding gift. You can write on it with chalk, so I wrote “welcome, friends!” for the next time we have dinner guests.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 9:34 am

    Love this idea! Excited you have a blog :) Hope to see you guys when we come out early in 2012…not sure of the dates yet…

  2. November 6, 2011 10:01 am

    um, SUPER CUTE.

  3. Maria permalink
    November 6, 2011 10:05 am

    Move over Martha Stewart. Here comes Chelsea. :-)

  4. November 6, 2011 1:03 pm

    so cute. i wanna copy you. my walls are super bare.

    • November 6, 2011 1:05 pm

      and maybe i’ll write you a love note so you can hang it on there…or were you talking about love notes from colby?

  5. November 6, 2011 5:00 pm

    love love love

  6. lacey permalink
    November 6, 2011 7:20 pm

    I miss the creativity you brought to my life.

  7. Donna Pauley permalink
    November 8, 2011 4:52 pm

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

