Skip to content

the eating project: month three.

October 30, 2011

I’m just going to start this blog off with a confession. For this month we were supposed to eat Albanian food, but we couldn’t find an Albanian restaurant or a place that even served Albanian fare, so we chose Greek food. Close enough, right? Oh, that reminds me–another confession: before I went to Albania, I probably wouldn’t have been able to point it out on a map to you. Now, I love it!

I enjoyed the food in Albania. We ate lots of pizza, kebabs, and byrek that month. Byrek is basically this delicious flaky (think baklava) phyllo dough filled with spinach, cheese, whatever else. I was obsessed.

When we ended our month in Albania in October 2009, we had to make our way to Turkey. There were two clear route choices–through Bulgaria, or through Greece. We chose to go through Greece because we thought it would be cool to have a little time there. Of course, as the story goes, the bus from Albania took longer than we expected, and we ended up being in Greece for all of 15 minutes before our train left for Turkey. Buzzkill.

This Greek restaurant that Colby and I went to, however, was the opposite of buzzkill. It was actually so delicious. It’s called Kentro (which supposedly means “center” in Greek?) Greek restaurant. It is located in downtown Fullerton, which is the cutest little area ever. I love where we live!

   

The atmosphere was really cool. I loved the chalkboard menus and the bright dining room. They had water in wine bottles at the table, which was nice, because we didn’t have to wait for someone to refill our waters for us. The only awkward thing is that you order at the counter and then sit down, then they bring you your food. We were befuddled on whether we should tip or not…because we had a waiter, but he didn’t take our order. What’s the protocol in this situation?

   

The food was so delicious. We both got the chicken pita which had this amazing dijon aioli sauce that I wanted to take a bath in. I actually got some on the side and dipped my fries in it. The fries were also covered in some sort of amazing combination of garlic and spices. I kept stuffing them into my mouth even after I was full. The only downside to this place was that it was a tad pricey, and I definitely had some dragon breath going on after all of those exotic sauces and spices. Good thing Colby had the same thing that I did.

Basically, I can’t wait to come back here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2011 7:51 pm

    my favorite part of this post was that you said befuddled.

  2. sheryce permalink
    October 30, 2011 8:22 pm

    Sounds fabulous! Invite, me when you go next time!

  3. October 31, 2011 2:43 am

    ahhh i’m obsessed with greek food. my roommate and i found this hole in the wall pita place in atlanta – inexpensive and so, so good! but i want to try out kentro with you.

    also, you’ve been blogging SO MUCH lately. i love it but it makes me insecure because, well, i’m not blogging so much.

    it’s 5:45 a.m. and i want to call you…but it’s only 2:45 where you are. (also: 5:45 would probably still be too early to call….sigh.)

    LOVE YOU AND COLBY AND GREEK AND BLOGGING AND BABIES. i don’t know why i said babies – it just came out and i’m leaving it.

  4. beks permalink
    November 3, 2011 1:53 am

    Good usage of “buzkill” ..you win! ;)

Leave a Reply

