Skip to content

40% bear, 40% cow, 20% dog.

October 15, 2011

Do you like what you read here? Then consider clicking the button to the right under my picture (scroll down a bit) that says “subscribe.”  You’ll get my posts sent straight to your email!

***

This is the kind of dog that I’m used to having in my house:

This is the dog that I have in my house now:

Big adjustment. I mean…heavy, 100+ pound adjustment.

Before we got married this was a big issue between Colby and me. I basically don’t see the point of pets (although my parents’ dog is super cute). He loves his dog with all his heart. When we would have conversations about what was going to happen with Miles, one of us would end up crying, whether it was me thinking about living with a huge dog, or Colby, thinking about having to give away his dog. One time, in a fit of desperation, I cried into the phone, “I NEED TO KNOW YOU LOVE ME MORE THAN YOU LOVE YOUR DOG!” Colby said I was crazy (which is not really a newsflash to anyone), and that he couldn’t believe I would even say that.

So we did what all grown up people in relationships do. We compromised. I said that we could have a trial run with the dog on two conditions. One, I wouldn’t have to do anything regarding his care. Two, we would re-name him Harry Potter. No, I wasn’t joking.

It’s actually been going well.

    

He’s a sweet dog and even though I wouldn’t have chosen to live with him, he’s become mine somewhat, and I’m somewhat (on some days) okay with that. The only thing that mystifies me is that he seems more bear/cow than dog. Why bear? Because he’s huge like a big brown bear. Why cow? Because he likes to eat grass. Not joking. I leave you with video evidence:

Maybe one day I’ll be able to say I love Harry Potter (the dog). Until that day comes, we’ll keep working on it and having Colby take sweet pictures like this. It can only help.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Notario permalink
    October 15, 2011 12:54 pm

    I think he’s adorable. But I’m a big dog person. And I think it’s hilarious that you renamed him Harry Potter. there’s no one like you in this world. :-)

  2. Ashley permalink
    October 15, 2011 1:18 pm

    Chels, when I first saw the head of this post, I totally thought about South Park’s “Manbearpig” haha

  3. brandy permalink
    October 15, 2011 1:28 pm

    love the re-name! :)

  4. Lynn permalink
    October 15, 2011 2:25 pm

    love the romantic dog pic with you and HP

  5. Mama permalink
    October 15, 2011 2:33 pm

    Would Miles-Harry let me hold him in my arms like a baby and cuddle him?

  6. sheryce permalink
    October 15, 2011 2:52 pm

    Of course he would! He would love it! He would love Hermaine too.

  7. October 15, 2011 5:59 pm

    Our dog is 40% rabbit, 40% cat, and 20% dog :)

  8. October 15, 2011 6:55 pm

    hahaha i just love you so much and of course it should have always been harrypotter

  9. dan permalink
    October 15, 2011 11:07 pm

    how could you not love a furry fella like that?? definitely lol’d w the vid!! love you all!

  10. Donna Pauley permalink
    October 16, 2011 3:59 pm

    We have a chocolate lab too. They are the best dogs!! You will fall in love with him eventually. Our dog is named Diesel. He loves Naomi. He knocks her down, licks her face. They repeat this several times before I have to step in to put a stop to it. This morning they were playing out the doggie door. He would poke his head thru from outside and lick her. She would giggle then push the flaps back down. They did this for awhile, then I noticed that it was quiet. Yep, she was sitting outside on the back porch with Diesel right beside her!!

  11. Allie permalink
    October 16, 2011 4:46 pm

    Chels!!!!! That dog is AMAZING!!!! I give you 6 months from today. You’ll be in love. I don’t even know the dog… but I just know.. ya know/

  12. October 19, 2011 8:51 am

    i love that your mama called him Miles-Harry. and i’m loving colby’s outfit in that video.

  13. October 30, 2011 8:04 pm

    Ah.. I think you are slowly but surely falling in love!

Leave a Reply

