Skip to content

the eating project: month two.

September 29, 2011

This is the second month in our year-long project. For the first month, in which we went to an Irish pub, click here.

Ah, Romania. I have wonderful memories of our time in the tiny Gypsy village in the mountains of middle-of-nowhere Romania. The simplicity of life there is beautiful. The people there are beautiful. It’s crazy to think how much my life has changed since I was there two years ago, but I’m betting that for many of the people in that village, life is pretty much the same. We bought our host papa a chainsaw, I hope that he’s been able to do a lot of good with that.

For this month’s restaurant, we found a little Romanian restaurant tucked away in a kind of interesting part of town in Anaheim. It was about ten minutes from our place. The surroundings were not much to look at.

  

We accidentally got there twenty minutes before it opened for dinner. We felt a little sheepish standing around outside waiting for this place to open, when it didn’t seem like anyone else in the world wanted to be there. There was a place next door called “Pizza and Chicken Love Letter” and we were kind of tempted to go there instead. While we waited we had a mini photoshoot, and then decided that we’re not always that attractive. That’s okay, we always have the wedding pictures to look at.

Once we were allowed inside, I was immediately charmed. There was some crazy Romanian operatic music playing, and our waitress barely spoke English. I actually felt like I could have stepped into Romania. It was a pretty large dining room, and Colby and I were the only ones there. I was a little afraid that we were going to be the only people in there all night, but eventually 3 other Romanian guys showed up.

  

The food was good, and there really wasn’t much in the menu for anyone to cop out on eating authentic Romanian food. I had stuffed cabbage rolls (which I’ve actually eaten a lot in my life because they are a Serbian speciality too…did you know I’m part Serbian?) and Colby had mititei, which is a very traditional Romanian type of sausage. We both got side salads and yummy rolls.

  

Also noteable was the HOT pepper that came on the side of mine. I bit into it with gusto and was a little shocked. It was actually quite nice. I wasn’t a huge fan of the corn meal mush type side that came with mine, but Colby’s fries were yum. The one downside was the price; it was a little pricey! But I loved the experience because it felt very authentic. I’m not sure that I would go back unless I was trying to impress a Romanian friend.

As they say in Romania, “Pofta buna!”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    September 30, 2011 6:00 am

    Makes me hungry for stuffed cabbage rolls…

  2. Lydia permalink
    September 30, 2011 10:25 am

    Congrats to you two!
    The “Eating Project” is a really fun idea! I lived in Orange County (all over O.C.) for more than 20 years so I enjoy seeing these fun places you are discovering.
    I am looking forward to your month of eating Tanzanian food…can’t wait to see what fun place you’ll discover!!!
    Blessings to you both!
    Lydia
    Treasures of Africa Children’s Home
    Moshi, Tanzania

  3. Lynn permalink
    September 30, 2011 6:25 pm

    it makes me happy to see you guys having little everyday adventures together. partners 4 life, so much fun : ) : )

  4. October 1, 2011 7:09 pm

    Aw, I remember one time when Anthony, Don and I broke fast with Meech (That is not how it is spelled, but how it sounds, anyway!)

    I love your idea, this is too cool, and it’s awesome that you live in such a diverse place where you can get all of this. I love it! I love ya’ll!

  5. October 3, 2011 1:40 pm

    Those cabbage rolls were my favorite thing ever.

  6. none permalink
    January 24, 2012 12:45 pm

    Are you sure you’re part Serbian? Your friend looks more Serbian than you do.

Leave a Reply

