Skip to content

roll out.

September 14, 2011

I’ve joined a new elite crew.

See, there are two kinds of people in the world. Those who ride their bike as a legitimate means of transportation, and those who don’t. Are you in or are you out?

I am in, so in! At my new school, they actually have a “commuter rewards” program. This means that I can earn $2 a day for riding my bicycle to school instead of driving my car. SCORE! Actually, if I add it up (4 weeks in a month times the two days a week I have class), it equals $16/month that I’m making, but, hey. That’s 16 more dollars than what I previously had. Another bonus to riding my bike? I don’t have to spend $200+ on a parking pass. AND I don’t have to fight for a parking spot. That alone is worth it.

Here’s the thing. This would never fly in Ohio. Can you imagine? First of all, it’s too cold/the weather is way too treacherous for about five months of the school year. Black ice plus subzero windchill on a bicycle? No thank you.

While on the topic of weather, let me just say California people are hilarious about it. Last week on Saturday it barely rained for an hour in the morning. I went to yoga class, and my instructor read a passage on gratitude. She prefaced it by saying, “It’s always good to remember to be grateful, especially on days with weather like this.” I was sitting there in child’s pose thinking, are you joking? I thought the rain was kind of a nice break from the predictable blue skies.

Anyways, last night after class I hopped on my bike and started the journey home. I stopped at a red light, and rolled up behind another cyclist. He turned around and looked at me. I gave him a smile. The light turned green. He snapped his shoes into his pedals (what?), and called over his shoulder, “Enjoy your ride!” I had to laugh because, hi, he was so legit with his lights and pedal-snapping-into shoes, and there I was, riding my beach cruiser wearing a dress, my purse in the basket.

I will admit, though, that in that moment, I felt such camaraderie with that guy. Ride on, man, ride on.

P.S. For those of you wondering, here’s what my route looks like. It’s a straight shot, two miles. One traffic light, just to get into the university, and bike lanes pretty much the whole way. It’s about a 15 minute ride. Holler.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 9:06 am

    so jeal.

  2. Lesa permalink
    September 14, 2011 9:15 am

    Cutest post ever. Miss you.

  3. aunt deb permalink
    September 14, 2011 10:02 am

    go Chels go!

  4. September 14, 2011 11:09 am

    the ak says GET A HELMET GET SOME LIGHTS on that bike girl! but otherwise, roll on you crazy diamond!

  5. Maria permalink
    September 14, 2011 1:38 pm

    Cute. I know what you mean about Ohio, but I like the snow. :-/

  6. September 20, 2011 11:29 am

    so beautiful.

    • September 20, 2011 11:30 am

      oopsie. i meant to post so beautiful on your wedding pics. but your bike is a beaut, too. :)

Leave a Reply

