Skip to content

the eating project: month one.

September 5, 2011

This conversation happened today…

Me: Hey, Colby, we need to think of a creative name for our eating project.

Colby: How about “the Eating Project?”

Me: Great.

Ladies and Gentlemen, welcome to the Eating Project.

I had this idea a few months ago to help us to commemorate life on the World Race and to get out and explore our area a bit.  For each month that we were on the Race, we will find a restaurant that serves food from the country where we lived for that month. For example, in January on the Race we were in Uganda, so this January we will find a Ugandan restaurant and eat there.

It’s lucky we live near Los Angeles, because other than maybe New York, it’s probably the city with the largest diversity in the world.  I’d say we have a good chance of finding a restaurant from each country.

I’m a little late on the blog, but we did go to an Irish restaurant in August. It’s hard to believe we were in Ireland two years ago. Everything has changed in that span of time.

I was reading my journal from those days, and I had to laugh at something I wrote on August 19 (2009, this is). I said, “RAINRAINRAINRAINRAINRAINRAINRAINRAIN. i broke down and bought a rain jacket (or mac as they’re called here). death! i hate rain. it really didn’t cease raining all day….the one good thing is that colby and i bought matching macs because we’re cute like that.”

Anyways, on to our take on the Irish restaurant. We went to a place in Costa Mesa called Durty Nelly’s.  Colby had been there before because apparently they have really fun karaoke on Saturday  nights. We were there on a Wednesday, and unfortunately had to leave, but they have a quiz night put on by “Geeks Who Drink” (which I know nothing about). According to the Yelp reviews, that’s pretty fun too.

  

We went during happy hour, and they had really great food specials. Basically you can get a half portion of any of their entrees for less than half the regular price. I got fish and chips (being the Irish lass that I am…not). Colby got fettuccine alfredo and potato skins. I couldn’t really argue when he said, “Potatoes are Irish!”

   

We also had to have some cider because neither of us are big Guinness fans. We were trying to remember who it was on our squad who was obsessed with cider when we were in Ireland. Anyone remember?

   

Overall, the food was good, not amazing. The service was decent, again, not amazing. The price was hard to beat, and the other customers seemed diverse. You can imagine who were the types of people in the group identified as “Geeks Who Drink.” The atmosphere was cool, a little gritty/dirty, but cozy and intimate. Overall, it seemed like the type of place that I’d like to become a regular, if I was the type of person into becoming a regular at a bar.

So our first month with the Eating Project went well…can’t wait for month two!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Halley permalink
    September 5, 2011 10:11 pm

    This is such a good idea! Looking forward to the rest.

    PS: We have a tropical storm coming through right now, so it was pouring all day. I got out of my car to get my mail. As I was standing in the cold rain, I was instantly taken back to Ireland. Not the best memory correlation.

  2. Lesa permalink
    September 6, 2011 4:56 am

    Fun project! By the way, you are a bit Irish…My Great Grandpa McKee was full-blooded…and Dad was born on St. Patty’s Day…Oh, wait a minute…I guess that doesn’t really count.

  3. September 6, 2011 8:51 am

    love this. love you. p.s. it may have been me who was obsessed with cider …it was the first time i discovered such a thing.

  4. September 7, 2011 4:28 pm

    Dangit, I thought it was me who was obsessed with cider. Emily even rapped about it in my birthday rap. haha. Bulmer’s Cider= best thing everrrrr. I had at least one or two every day we were there. Bet you guys thought I was filled with the spirit during those lively Spinnaker’s worship sessions, huh? JUUUST kidding.

Trackbacks

  1. the eating project: month two. « pilgrimage.

Leave a Reply

