Skip to content

the one you’ve all been waiting for (part two).

March 22, 2011

As many of you know, I recently spent five weeks in Southern California. During that time I checked out grad school options, looked at apartments, and attended pre-marital classes with Colby.  We pretty much decided that we wanted to get married this coming summer, but I came back to Ohio disappointed that I wasn’t engaged. Plus I kind of hate surprises, and I was being a baby about how I hate that this had to be a surprise. My birthday was coming up, however, and Colby told me that he was planning on coming out to celebrate with me.

I was subbing on Friday, and he told me that his flight would arrive into Cleveland at 8pm. My friend Jenna told me that she wanted to meet me at my favorite park (Virginia Kendall/the ledges) after school for a winter photo shoot. She just recently started a new photography blog, so it didn’t seem strange to me.

As I left school, came home, changed, and left for the park, I was text-messaging Jenna with a play-by-play of my activities. The whole time she was texting me back saying things like, “I’m sure you’ll look great no matter what you wear…I just got here so I’m checking out great spots for pictures…let me know when you’re here.”

When I got the park, I tried to call her, but she didn’t answer. She text-messaged me with directions to go to the Ice Box Cave. I started walking that way, but was getting a little disheartened by the cold and loneliness of the walk. I tried calling her again, but with no answer. She texted me and said, “Go to the Ice Box Cave, you’ll just see me there!”

I eventually reached where she said she would be, but no Jenna was in sight. I reluctantly called out into the forest, “Jenna?”

Jenna did not come into sight, but guess who did! When I saw Colby I was kind of confused. I said, “Is Jenna here?”

He said, “No”

I asked, “How did you get here? Did Jenna bring you here?”

He answered again, “No, Jenna didn’t bring me here. It’s kind of a crazy story how I got here.”

One last time I asked, “So, Jenna’s not here at all?”

Once I got over Jenna not being there, Colby finally had the chance to tell me that he loves me, and he asked me to marry him (after a sweet little speech). I, of course, said YES! Some people walked by and offered to take our picture.

a re-enactment.

i love it! antique from the 1920's, white gold. i didn't want a diamond, so he got me a pearl.

As we walked back to the parking lot, Colby told me the insane story about how his flight to Cleveland on Thursday night was cancelled because of snow, so he flew into Pittsburgh instead, spent the night at a friend’s house, and drove a rental car in to meet my dad for lunch on Friday. He kept adding little details to the story that made it more and more complicated. I loved it because it was ALL FOR ME! ;)  He also told me that he was excited that it snowed, because he finally got a chance to take the tag off of and wear a pair of gloves he bought like two years ago. It also turned out that the reason why Jenna didn’t answer when I called was because she was really nervous she would somehow ruin the surprise. We went over to my friend’s house and surprised her and my sister Eva and some of her friends, which was really fun.

a re-enactment of the surprise.

It has been a ton of fun telling people that we are engaged. Especially entertaining has been telling our international friends that we made throughout the year on the World Race. Here are a few responses that I love:

Aaaah Yeey!!! I am so excited for you girl!!! That is super awesome- congratulations to ye both! I am really really happy for you… Man, that’s great! Make sure you save me a piece of cake..lol :D (Michelle, Ireland)

Congratulations and many blessings in your life together with Colby :) God bless you an give His peace in every day together …Thanks for sharing with me that wonderful news . Hope to see you both one day ….it is a pleasure to see you my sister in Christ . (Alma, Albania)

For sure its good news. I wish you well in your prepation for a BIG BIG weeding. Bravo! (Wellington, from Kenya)

Hello my evangelist, For sure that is good news. I am happy for you. Be sure of my prayers and blessings daughter. I pray that you may consider coming back visiting one day after marriage. Colby is a man of God. God bless your plans. (Bishop Maurice, from Kenya)

This is such a good piece of news. You guys are amazing together. I am so so happy for you both. (Hong, from Vietnam)

am so so excited for you guys and to hear that :) yes i will pray for you ! it really good new :) god will bless you ! have a wonderful time. (Vuthy, Cambodia)

So there you have it. It’s hard to believe that in May it will have been two years since we first met. By the time we are married, we will have been together as a couple for 13 months. We are planning on getting married this summer out here in Ohio (that is, if planning the wedding doesn’t kill me). Then I’ll move out to California where I will hopefully attend grad school at Cal State Fullerton. If I’m accepted, I’ll be in a two year graduate program to receive a Master of Science in education with a  TESOL focus (teaching English as a second language) so that I can teach English as a second language. Lord willing, Colby will continue to teach PE. This is our short term plan. Long term…who knows? This excites me greatly.

don't mind how WHITE i am next to colby.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Notario permalink
    March 22, 2011 11:30 am

    I love everything about this- esp. the pearl. Well, especially you two really, but you know how I feel about pearls.

  2. March 22, 2011 12:19 pm

    I seriously cried when I read this! GAH! Love makes me so happy. I love you. I love Colby. I love that you love each other. I love everything about this and am SO proud and happy of you both. Seriously, this has got to be one of the coolest “how-we-met” stories ever. Being a small part of the journey we had around the world, and a small part of witnessing the journey of you and Colby’s lives intertwine has been incredible.

    Okay, I’m making a SAPPY fool of myself, but you know that I am SOOOOO EXCITED for both of you and that I can’t can’t can’t can’t can’t WAIT for your life together to unfold. I love ya’ll, Mr. and future Mrs. Dragon :)

  3. March 22, 2011 12:46 pm

    “He kept adding little details to the story that made it more and more complicated. I loved it because it was ALL FOR ME! ;) ”

    I love this part because it’s so true… it feels so good to be sought after and know that all the detailed planning was because he LOVES YOU! :)

    I might be getting my masters in TESOL/ESL if I can’t find a job… WEIRD!!!

  4. March 23, 2011 10:24 am

    Ummm…. Darci was inputting info into our new Alumni Database today…which included your blog address. So we stalked you and found this fun news this morning!!!! YEAH! Congrats to you girl. Much love!

  5. b grant permalink
    March 23, 2011 11:38 am

    hey little doodle. i love this story and i love you and colbs so very much. cannot wait to be there for the big day.

    -b

  6. March 23, 2011 11:49 am

    my favorite part was how confused you were about jenna not being there. and that colby got a rental to drive to you. you guys are the best.

  7. Talia Barnes permalink
    March 23, 2011 1:29 pm

    my favorite part is also about how you were confused about jenna.

    also – boo for not announcing things on facebook! how else am I supposed to find out?

  8. Halley permalink
    March 24, 2011 11:03 am

    Love, love, love.

  9. Jen permalink
    March 25, 2011 5:09 pm

    umm…hi…i’m a little behind in the news…CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!! so excited for the two of you. xoxo

  10. Holland permalink
    March 29, 2011 10:13 am

    me and aaron bruner are reading this at work…WE LOVE LOVE! and of course we love you guys!

  11. March 29, 2011 10:22 am

    HAHA, yep me and Swolland just read it. So awesome and so excited to hear the story! You guys are great and I’m super pumped for you both! Love you guys!

  12. Adam permalink
    April 2, 2011 12:18 am

    yes.

  13. April 13, 2011 7:40 pm

    Just got a chance to read your whole story. Awesome, awesome stuff. Super congrats Chelsea. I’m excited for what God has for you two in his story. Continue to live radically for him.

    Marriage is awesome. I don’t know about anyone else but I can honestly say things have gotten better every year that I’ve been married to Ashley. This year [3] is by far the best year of my life. Its been tough and we’ve fought and cried a ton but in the midst of it all, God has proven faithful and we have fallen more in love than we were on day 1. You have a lot to look forward to. Enjoy your wedding but be prepared for incredible times being married.

    Congrats again.

Leave a Reply

