Skip to content

the one you’ve all been waiting for (part one).

March 18, 2011

When leaving on the World Race, I was often asked if I thought I would meet someone during the year. A significant someone, that is. To be honest, I really had no idea or expectation of that happening. I was perfectly content with my singleness for the time being, and wasn’t really anxious to be in a serious relationship.

Here’s the thing about the Race, though. It’s a group of fourty-some people…mostly singles…everyone in their twenties or thirties…things are bound to happen. It’s just that time of life. The other thing about the Race is THE RULE. I always say it’s really the only rule on the Race, which is the one about no dating or anything of the sort. At all. Period. We were threatened over and over about how we would be on the next flight home if there was even a whiff of any romantic happenings.

So you can probably imagine my great stress and anxiety when I stumbled upon the awareness that I had feelings for my teammate (not to mention team leader), Colby. This realization came to me when we were in Tanzania…in the middle of month eight. We still had three and a half long months of being together day in and day out before anything could happen. I didn’t think I could survive that long without going crazy.

You might be wondering how I did survive that long without going crazy. To be honest, there were definitely days when I felt like I was going to explode. I prayed. A lot. And pretty much every time I gave it to God, he answered me with a single word.

Patience.

I decided to try obedience, even though it scared me. I love being in control, but God kept telling me to play the patience card, and so I did. While I waited, God taught me so much. God reminded me over and over of his goodness, of his love for me, of his blessings. Here’s the thing: I’ve spent a lot of my life trying to manipulate my way into situations with guys, and I didn’t want this to be like that.

I debated a lot about posting this, because, like I said in an earlier post, I’m not sure how I feel about sharing super personal information over the Internet. I decided to do it for two reasons. One, because I know that many people have been waiting with bated breath to hear what’s happening between us and two, I want to encourage people who are in tough relationship situations. My advice is to get flat on your face before God, ask Him what He wants you to do, wait for an answer, and then do that. You can do it! I won’t lie, it was a really hard part of the year for me, but now that all is said and done, I feel so incredibly proud about how we did things. Every situation looks so different, but I really want to encourage you to stay honorable, choose obedience, and trust God. He’ll come through. He is so faithful.

I think the most common question that people asked me back in June during final debrief  was some form of this one (and it drove me crazy): Are you and Colby going to date?

Over the past 8 months as we’ve grown in our love, walked through some “real life in America” together, and continued to try to lay our relationship to the Lord, there have been some times of struggle. God continued to speak one word to me. Patience. Do you trust me enough to wait on me? And I have to confess that many times I replied back by saying, “No, I don’t. I think I could do this better than you.” And God, instead of smiting me dead, continues to answer me in his grace by saying (you guessed it), patience.

The most common question that people have asked me lately is this: (and I’ve asked myself the same thing): When are you and Colby going to get engaged?

Well, all you love lovers…the answer is YES. This happened a week ago. I couldn’t be more excited.

holllerrr.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. aunt deb permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:43 am

    Chels – I am so happy that God didn’t smite you…..and that you were smitten by Colby.

  2. Ashley permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:44 am

    Not going to lie–I was checking your blog like crazy to read the story–thanks so much for sharing! It was so encouraging, even as a fellow engagee, to know that God encourages patience and was speaking to you about this whole thing. I know I haven’t met Colby yet, but I have such a sense that he is a wonderful guy, and Kyle and I are so happy for you guys! Here’s to a great life together! Amen and Amen! :) :)

  3. joanna haworth :) permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:06 am

    I, too, was checking your blog like ALL THE DANG TIME!!! and nothing… all I saw were some pics on facebook. deary, I am SO happy for you :) you are a gem and he seems like a keeper!! it’s an amazing testimony that you have kept your eye on the Lord throughout ALL of your past hurts and relationships, and evidently, so has he. I love it :) So blessed to have ever met you and see your love for the Lord. excited to see where God takes you both. praying for you often!
    <3 Joanna

  4. Anna Notario permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:23 am

    I love you both SO much, and I am SO proud of you. AAAAAA. :-) My heart is swelling with joy!

  5. lacey permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:30 am

    love.love.love. you`re obedience was one of many traits i admired throughout our year together. so blessed that i got to spend that time with you…..oh! we`re so stinkin exciited for you two! :)

  6. Amanda permalink
    March 18, 2011 12:03 pm

    Chelsea congratulations!! How wonderful and exciting!! Keep writing about all of these adventures you guys are having – it makes for great memories. Super excited for you! May God just bless you so much during this time :)

    amandakraus.tumblr.com

  7. March 18, 2011 12:09 pm

    Ahhhh Chels!!

    I was telling my friend this story last night when I told her about you and Colbs (she doesn’t know you) because she was asking me what she needed to do to get a man.

    I said, “One time, we were visting these elderly people living with cancer in Viet Nam. That one super hyper lady kept pointing at people and trying to indicate that they needed to get together, and she pointed to Chelsea and Colby. I smiled inside, although I wasn’t super sure if both of them felt that way, I was secretly hoping they did. And then the lady started giving advice, and she told Chelsea that if she wanted to get married, she needed to work on being gentle. Chelsea laughed and said, ‘I could probably work on that.'”

    And, as I told my friend last night, you must have :D

    Gentleness, people! It’s the answer! That and God’s word, of course.

    Um, so that being said, I am BEYOOOOOOOOOOOOND excited for you!

  8. March 18, 2011 1:26 pm

    SO excited for both of you! thanks for sharing your story….it brings me so much encouragement, friend. also glad didn’t smite you. :)

  9. ziza permalink
    March 18, 2011 1:55 pm

    posted!! yes!!! bring out part due!!!!! :)

  10. March 18, 2011 4:19 pm

    it took you 8 months to realize that you liked him?? it took me like 8 minutes. congrats. lotta love for you two.

  11. beks permalink
    March 18, 2011 8:03 pm

    uhh…yessssssssssssssssssssssssss

  12. Maria permalink
    March 18, 2011 8:10 pm

    Congratulations, Chelsea. I’m real happy for you. Do you have a date yet?

  13. March 18, 2011 8:10 pm

    so so so happy for you two. and sooo admire your patience through the whole thing. :) tell colby i’ll give him an ear cleaning as a wedding present!

  14. March 18, 2011 8:46 pm

    ok BUT WHAT ABOUT THE RING!

  15. March 18, 2011 8:46 pm

    ps I am SRSLY really happy, that comment sounded so rude :)

  16. March 21, 2011 8:09 pm

    Yay! So happy for you, Chels!!

  17. meg permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:30 pm

    love it! i want to see a picture of that pearl on your finger. can’t wait to celebrate with you guys!

  18. Holland permalink
    March 29, 2011 10:09 am

    sooooooo happy for you two!!!

Leave a Reply

