Skip to content

same same but different.

January 24, 2011

in siem reap, cambodia.

In Cambodia and Thailand they sell these t-shirts everywhere that say “same same” on the front and “but different” on the back. This is a phrase they use sometimes. It’s kinda hard to explain. I feel like they say it in the market a lot. For example, if you see an iPhone for sale and you ask, “is this a real iPhone?” they might answer, “yes, same same but different.”

Anyways, how does this relate to my life currently?

I’m sitting in a Panera in La Habra, California. It’s funny, because if I didn’t look outside, I could almost feel like I was at my local Panera in Ohio. But, no, upon looking outside I see sunshine and people wearing flip flops. Definitely NOT Ohio.

It’s weird that it’s January, but yesterday I wore a dress and cardigan and flats. It’s January, but I went to the beach on Saturday. I can go outside without fearing death by frostbite. You get the point. It’s weird because I know that I’m still in my home country, but it feels different. The culture is different, and I’m observing a little bit like an outsider. How do they dress? What do they do for fun? How do they speak? What kind of music do they listen to? What kind of opportunities exist out here for me? School? Job? Friends? Church?

I get a little jealous of some of my friends who are flung all over the world currently–Nicaragua, Cambodia, Dominican Republic, Spain, etc–but I’m in a different environment, too, and I’m choosing to look at it as my adventure.

Here we go, Southern California. I have a feeling we’re going to become close friends.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Roth permalink
    January 25, 2011 3:59 am

    I should buy you one of those t shirts here! They are everywhere. WOld you like one? lol
    2 dollar? I sell you for good price! lol

  2. January 25, 2011 2:43 pm

    same same here in georgia. their accents are hilarious. next time you talk to em get her to do her impression of this man we met at what we thought was a thrift store, but was actually a place where they give out free food and clothing. they told us we could get two free items and since we’re on a missionary’s budget we considered it. but decided it’d be unethical. this really long comment makes me realize that i really miss hope. weird.

  3. January 25, 2011 4:21 pm

    Love this, Chels! I love reading your blog… It makes me feel like I know what’s going on in the world. Lol. Have fun with Colby! I miss and love you both!

  4. January 27, 2011 6:18 pm

    yessss you and i are same same but diff. forevs.

Leave a Reply

