Skip to content

you are the best thing that’s ever been mine.

January 14, 2011

I want to talk today about my  bed.

IT IS SO COMFORTABLE. I have this great pillow that I’ve been using for years and I even brought it on the World Race, and I probably should get a new one. But this one just smooshes to any configuration that I want, and I love that.  I have a big, warm down comforter and I use this pink fleece blanket for extra warmth. I also have an egg crate type mattress topper thing that goes under the top sheet. I just love being cozy and snuggled up in bed. It makes winter mornings so tough.

I’m so serious right now. I’m really appreciating my bed. I mean, you really can’t underestimate the value of a good bed. Or a good night’s sleep.

On the World Race our sleeping arrangements were always kind of sketchy. Actually, I had this dumb dream the other night that my team had just gotten to our new location for the month and we were in that moment where we were taking in our surroundings and getting a feel for it. There was that weird period of time where we had to figure out who was going to sleep where. I always hated it because of course everyone wanted the “better” option and no one wanted to be selfish, but when you really think about it, when the choice is between sleeping on a thermarest on the floor or on an old mattress that’s slanted down the middle and springs are all up in your back, you kind of realize that the word “better” is a relative term. I do have to shout out to the boys, particularly one (you know who you are!) who consistently took the worst sleeping arrangement, whatever that may have been for that month. PREESH.

There were so many sleepless nights on the Race. In Ireland, I fell asleep freezing cold and in terror every night that my tent was going to break, exposing me to the elements. The aforementioned bed of the last paragraph was in Romania. I was also sketched out by the covers, because I had no idea when was the last time they had been washed. Many months were spent on mattresses on the floor or laid on a platform of wood (which really isn’t much better).

I saw this on my newsfeed on facebook and laughed out loud. Wellington is one of my friends from Kenya.

I think it’s really funny that Hope and I both “liked this” because we shared sleeping accommodations that month. We had a mattress on the floor, covered by a mosquito net, in a mud hut/house thing. Although I say we shared sleeping accommodations, I wouldn’t say we slept per se. That was the month where we always had issues with critters making noise all night long, and the same month where we had to share our room with chickens one night. Beyond that, it was incredibly hot, thus adding to the sleeplessness. So when Wellington says, “very hot!” I know what he means.

Also, side note, I just want to say that I definitely did not experience the worst sleeping conditions of the Race. I think that award goes to Hope and Emily who slept on the muddy bathroom floor after being soaked by rain in Israel. We were camping by the Sea of Galilee, which sounds REALLY COOL but it was so lame! Here’s a picture of what that looked like:

I don’t want to sound complain-y at all. Sleeping conditions aren’t really what I think about when I think about the year as a whole, but it is kind of crazy when I do think about it. The thing is that the human body is very good at adapting. I’m typically a pretty light sleeper, but on the Race you could have entered me into Olympic sleeping competitions. I’m only bummed that I seem to have gone back to my old finicky sleeping habits now that I’m back in the comfort of home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 12:50 pm

    Haha… My favorite quote of this blog, “We were camping by the Sea of Galilee, which sounds REALLY COOL but it was so lame!”

    I have to admit, Hope and Em had awful sleeping that night… But I woke up absolutely exposed to the elements and with my head on Anthony’s feet. The only night of my life I woke up dirtier was at the campout at our Training Camp.

    I love that you blogged about your bed. I was just thinking about my bed yesterday and how thankful I am for it.

  2. b grant permalink
    January 15, 2011 11:13 am

    hahaha it too me a really long time to realize what that last picture was from.

    guy sleeping hardcore in the tattoo shop in hua hin

    also i love you and i love that you rave about your bed as much as i do. also i kind of forgot about sleeping in such weird places. blah ireland!!!!

    -b

  3. January 16, 2011 1:01 am

    So when I came home from the race I owned nothing. I’d gotten rid of all of my furniture. I’ve never regretted it, but when I moved to G-ville I had enough money saved for one splurge: a bed. That’s all I wanted. That’s all I have. And that’s OK because it’s amazing. I will never be without a bed ever again. Ever.

  4. chadwick permalink
    March 6, 2011 5:35 pm

    hahaha, i love that pic of me and les. didn’t even know it was taken… obviously! we miss you like CRAZY!!!!!! Seriously! When are we moving out there???? come on crazy Jows!!?!?!

Leave a Reply

