Skip to content

2011 does rule, though.

January 2, 2011

NEW YEAR! I’m pretty excited to be quite honest. The past two years have been pretty epic for me. In 2009 I graduated from college and started the World Race, and in 2010 I finished the World Race and did a whole bunch of other stuff. A lot of big life changes have happened in the past two years, and I’m jazzed to see what this year will bring.

Here’s a little bit of my year in review:

I arrived in Nairobi, Kenya on December 30th late at night. I celebrated New Year’s Eve with my squad mates worshipping and lighting off sparklers and sharing what the Lord had done in the last 5 months of the World Race. I spent New Year’s day walking around Nairobi with April and Halley. We stumbled upon a celebration in a park and were greeted by many Kenyans with an enthusiastic, “Happy New Yeah!”

In January I lived in Gulu, Kenya with Peter and Naomi and their baby Phil. I learned about the history of Northern Uganda and the conflict with the LRA, as every person in that village had been touched in some way by the violence. I learned how to effectively evangelize to Africans through the example of Pastor Stephen. I preached in my first open air crusade and danced a bunch with the worship team.

In February I lived in Mpeketoni, Kenya. I led worship a lot with my friend Adam (and we became semi-famous in the Christian music scene there). I learned so much about complete obedience to the Lord. I heard stories about Bishop Maurice killing cobras. I slept with chickens and saw real life hippos and giraffes in the wild. I swam in the Indian Ocean.  I discovered the joy of chapatti and nice cookies (but I have yet to do chapatti in the USA…need to work on that).

In March I lived in Moshi, Tanzania. I discovered a beautiful community of American missionaries there. I helped baby Sharon learn how to walk. I was served spaghetti and chocolate syrup for breakfast and became obsessed with the best juice ever. I got malaria. I visited the base of Mt. Kilimanjaro. I turned 23 and cried over cake and ice cream.

In April I lived in Vietnam. I fell back in love with that part of the world. I held countless babies and prayed over many elderly people. I swam in the South China Sea and went to a wedding where I sat next to a Vietnamese Gideon. I taught English and rode motor scooters all over town. I ate at Hard Rock Cafe.

In May I lived in Touch Village, Cambodia. I fell in love with the most beautiful children in the world. I learned about the Khmer Rouge and how the country is slowly recovering from that devastation. I shared the gospel over and over again. I taught English to tiny children and laughed a lot as I tried to learn some Khmer. I experienced the worst food poisoning of my life and went to a dermatologist to cure me. I rode 20 minutes to get to the internet. I became super obsessed with sour mango and sugar.

In June I lived in Chiang Mai, Thailand. I spent a lot of time in a coffee shop and a college campus. I ate a Big Mac and got a Thai massage. I helped one woman get a lifestyle change. I ate ice cream at a bar, had a conversation in Spanish, and went to a crazy dance party all in one night. I hung out with some incredible women, and we got to ride elephants. I hid under my bed and got a new pair of Toms shoes. I ate a bunch of cheesecake and Pad Thai.

In July I was in California for the first time ever and started dating my World Race teammate. I went on a road trip with my family to Denver to celebrate my cousin’s wedding. I lived with my sister and loved life. I spent so much money on Chipotle and didn’t regret a single cent. I spent a lot of alone time processing what had just happened in my life and helped my sister cut out countless lovebirds for her wedding decorations.

In August I celebrated the marriage of my sister and mourned the death of my grandfather. I spent a lot of time with my little sisters and my grandparents. I took Kayleigh back to school in Chicago and got to visit with many friends along the way. I cried a lot and missed many of the people I met on the World Race.

In September I visited my bff married couple in Indiana. I enjoyed spending so much time with April. I spent Labor Day in Southern California and celebrated the engagement of Laura and Dan. I saw Ray Lamontagne and David Gray in concert. I discovered and became obsessed with Oregon Chai. I ate chocolate chip pancakes with my grandpa. I taught myself to make a killer omelette.

In October I helped out at a World Race training camp. I bought Taylor Swift’s new cd and couldn’t listen to anything else for about 3 weeks straight. I went trick or treating with my little sisters and best friend. I relived the glory days of freshman year of college by seeing Mae on their farewell tour. I intentionally enjoyed Ohio’s beautiful autumn season.

In November I celebrated Thanksgiving at home with my family. I made all the “kids” do a craft with me before dinner. I started full-time subbing (high school Spanish). I celebrated April and Grant’s engagement. I continued to experience culture shock and got a great hair cut. I saw Harry Potter 7. I read a new book by my favorite author.

In December I was really busy with teaching. I celebrated Christmas at Lake Arrowhead and at home in Ohio with my whole family. I visited for a weekend with some of my best friends from college. I watched my favorite Christmas movies and baked Christmas cookies. I played in the snow with Kira and enjoyed 3 snow days. I went sledding with all of my sisters and my brother-in-law and our dad. I spent New Year’s Eve with friends in Columbus.

My life is so full. Thanks for being a part of it. Here’s to 2011 being the best year yet!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 7:57 pm

    hey chelsea, it’s amanda from high school :) i’ve been reading your blog lately. i love hearing your stories and seeing what you’re up to. your life really is so full! i’m so happy for you and wish you the best year ever! :) xoxo

  2. January 2, 2011 9:16 pm

    wow, i really like this mini recap. i like that i was a part of a lot of it. i like you (…what’s new?)

  3. beks permalink
    January 2, 2011 9:19 pm

    awww..this is totes presh =]

  4. Anna Notario permalink
    January 2, 2011 10:04 pm

    I love this year recap… it made my heart happy and my eyes tear up. :-)
    love.

  5. Halley permalink
    January 11, 2011 3:57 pm

    I loooovveee this blog so much. Especially when you recapped hiding under the bed.

  6. meg permalink
    January 25, 2011 11:35 pm

    hey chelsea. love your writing style and great overview of your year. fun to read! see you soon, i think. :)

Leave a Reply

