Skip to content

resolving to become.

December 30, 2010

New years resolutions: yay or nay?

Maybe I should resolve to be a more consistent blogger…but I can’t help it. I’ve been busy with traveling and family and holiday festivities…like making great rice krispie treat snowmen and putting together puzzles (shut up, you already knew I was a nerd).

we named him roland.

puzzle 1 of 2.

I’m a pretty goal-oriented person by nature, so new years’ resolutions don’t really do much for me. I guess it’s fine to set new goals for the new year, but I’ve never really been that into the idea. A long time ago I heard this quote and I think about it often:

You will never become what you’re not already becoming.

Hi, conviction. When I think about the person that I am and the person that I want to be, there’s quite the gap. Don’t get me wrong, I love ME and God has done so much in my heart this past year and a half to put me at peace with who I am in Him. He has revealed specific gifts He has given me and how I can use them to further His kingdom. He has highlighted parts of my personality that I’ve had trouble loving and shown me that it’s okay to be me.

But. I still want to continually become. I propose that this year instead of setting aimless new years’ resolutions, let’s think about the person we want to become and set goals that help us toward that end.

A few of mine (serious and not so serious):

  • I want to become a prayer warrior. A goal I can set toward this end is to ask one person a week for prayer requests in his/her life and then commit to praying for those specific things every day.
  • I want to become a surfer. I can commit to doing a good core workout and swim workout once a week.
  • I want to become a person who is super familiar with God’s word. I can commit to finding a daily Bible reading plan that quickly moves me through the entire Bible in either a year or two years.
  • I want to become a thoughtful friend. I can write one piece of snail mail a week.
  • I want to become a healthier person. I will take a women’s multivitamin every single day!

Of course I could think of many more, and I have some random goals that don’t really fit in with becoming unless it is really a stretch (I want to become a person who has all her college years scrapbooked so I commit to scrapbooking my senior year of college?? Haha DUMB).

What about you? Who do you want to become? What are you going to do this year in order to start becoming?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2010 10:16 am

    haha I’ve laughed so hard at the scrapbooking one.

    I want to become…
    someone who consistently reflects on life (journaling once a week)
    someone who is consistently intimate with God (starting my day with prayer, even if it means a 2 minute prayer)
    someone who is content with life (not complaining and voicing my gratitude via orally, written in journal, or social network)

  2. usedbyyou permalink
    December 30, 2010 10:22 am

    hahah. come over and we can scrap together. PLEASE. i am dying I am so far behind. I think I will give up and just do digital albums.

  3. meg permalink
    January 1, 2011 5:15 pm

    just caught myself up on your blog… love your resolutions and love your pics with chaz/rebecca! happy new year!

Leave a Reply

