Skip to content

so frightful.

December 7, 2010

It’s totally winter. My littlest sister and I got into an argument the other night because she asked me if it was winter. I think she was setting me up, because when I said that it was she said, “NO IT ISN’T WINTER DOESN’T START UNTIL DECEMBER 21!”

Okay, whatever. Sure, winter doesn’t technically start until December 21, but come on. If it’s 20 degrees outside, there’s 8 inches (full disclosure: I made that number up) of snow on the ground (enough that we didn’t have school today), and I have a cold…I’m gonna go ahead and call it winter. Just check these pictures I took today.

 

this is my back deck.

 

icicles at my grandma's house.

 

 

I’m actually loving it….for now. I’ll probably tire of it over the next four months as my car slip slides around the roads and I dread going outside even to just get the mail. Today I’m happy, though. I’m sitting at Starbucks drinking a cup of Joy (the best tea ever only available at Christmastime GIMMEMORREEE) and grading papers. Well, I was grading papers. Now I’m blogging. Every five seconds I lift my eyes to look out at the snow coming down.

Speaking of grading papers, school feels sooo different on the other side of the teacher’s desk. Whenever I assign a paper or quiz or test, in the back of my head I’m thinking about the time I’ll spend grading! I’m enjoying it though. I’m of course obsessed with the fact that I get to be surrounded by Spanish again. Soon I’ll be done with this teaching stint, and then…who knows. My bff Hope is heading out to Nicaragua in January for four months. Sometimes I fantasize about going to visit her. Hmmm…all I want for Christmas is a trip to Nica?

I have some more joys to share with you.

6) Cups of Joy.

 

mmmm.

 

I’ve been a big tea-drinker for years, but I am even more so now that I’ve kicked my coffee habit to the curb. This one is soooo delicious! I’m trying to find a way that I can make my own scrumptious blend of black, green, and oolong teas…

7) Snow days (see pictures above)! At 6:30 this morning the phone rang and I was informed that we didn’t have school (or work, for me) today. Hooray! I took a Sudafed and went back to sleep. It was a much needed break for me, to be able to sleep in. I’ve been swizzling orange juice and taking my vitamins because I have this cold going on. BE GONE!

8) Sudafed.

 

hi!

 

I don’t know what is in it, but it helps me sleep at night! I’m so thankful for this guy.

9) Memories

 

in romania last year.

 

Memory is the coolest thing. I’ve been thinking about the Race lately. I can so clearly remember last December. I have a blog brewing about it, but that will come at a later date. I miss times like this one pictured, but the memories are precious and bring me joy.

10) BEST FRIENDS

 

hope, grace, sheila, and jo.

 

I’m sure I’ll blog about this, but this weekend I’m getting together with my bffs from college. We are soooo excited. Sheila is coming all the way from Santa Barbara. Ho, Jo, and I are driving to Grace’s house in Wisconsin. I anticipate lots of girl talk, junk food, and Christmas movies. We hope to make this an annual event.

11) Christmas music. I’m currently crafting the perfect mix in my iTunes. I’m kind of picky–I love Christmas music, but only the three or four weeks before Christmas and only the songs that I choose. I have a great collection in my iTunes, but I tend to get sick of songs really quickly. Also, I can’t really stand the radio stations that only play Christmas songs for like…ever. Also, right now there’s this creepy version of “The Holly and the Ivy” playing at Starbucks. NEXT PLEASE.

12) Warm fireplaces.

 

not mine, but a nice one.

 

To me, there is nothing greater on a cold night than to curl up in front of the fireplace. Can we say obsessed?

 

Okay. That’s good for now. I have…88 to go. Better pick up the pace! What are some of your joys?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 4:35 pm

    okay first of all…YES PLEASE COME VISIT ME IN NICA!!! i never even thought about that but now i can’t stop thinking about it.

    that’s all really.

  2. December 7, 2010 4:36 pm

    oh yeah another thing – you guys have wayyy more snow than us. that’s so weird.

  3. matthewlasnyder permalink
    December 7, 2010 4:40 pm

    you’re cool.

  4. Maria permalink
    December 7, 2010 5:41 pm

    Hey Chelsea. I spent the day grading papers too (snow day). I stayed home/inside though. You can’t really like Spanish or teach it without being a coffee drinker. JK I love my coffee. Why did you kick it? Just curious. When is your last day of teaching? Glad you’re enjoying teaching. Hope to see you around the holidays.

  5. freespiritphotography permalink
    December 7, 2010 8:23 pm

    oh wow. if that little girl’s hand wasn’t covering the part of your shirt that said “world” i’m sure you’d be the new world race marketing picture. :)

  6. December 8, 2010 7:48 pm

    I am JEALOUS that you got a snow day today. SO freaking jealous.

    Um yes. After a few months of assigning work you get a knack for how to make quizzes/homeworks that are less tedious to grade. AND if you’re lucky you can find a teacher’s aide to help you do it and record it – PHEW.

    I am peeing my pants about this reunion. Freaking peeing my pants.

  7. holland permalink
    December 8, 2010 8:46 pm

    you are cool.

  8. December 11, 2010 3:33 pm

    commment does my picture show up?

Leave a Reply

