Skip to content

a hundred joys.

December 1, 2010

There’s this blogger that I read named Sarah Markley. I enjoy reading her blog. She has this new blogging project for the month of December and I really like it.

Basically, throughout the month of December, the goal is to focus on joy instead of on Christmas-shopping stress and bad weather and all sorts of things with which one could find some complaint–to find one hundred things that bring you joy throughout this season. I decided to jump on board. Here are some I had for today.

1) Making paper snowflakes with my Spanish 1 classes.

not one that we made, but still a nice one.

We’ve been working really hard in class this week getting ready for our chapter test on Friday. Today after we took a practice quiz, we got to make snowflakes to celebrate the first day of December and the beautiful snow that fell all day long. It was fun, and I heard one kid say, “Most legit Spanish class ever!” So, I was pretty pumped about that.

2) Lunch with my Aunt Deb.

again, not an actual representation of our lunches.

Apparently, it was her tradition to eat lunch with the teacher that who I’ve been replacing for the past few weeks. Luckily, she’s carrying on the tradition with me for the time I’m teaching. I look forward to  her texts in the morning telling me who she’s subbing for that day and in what lunch period I should expect to see her.

3) Time alone in my house.

this is what i look like in this exact moment.

Ever since I came back from the World Race, I’m way more of an introvert. I love alone time, especially when I’m literally alone in the house. This is the current situation, and I’m loving the peace.

4) My new slippers. They’re green and knit and have ruffles and maybe they look a little grandma-ish, but I love them and they keep my feet nice and warm.

5) Candy canes.

love!

OH MY GOODNESS. I am obsessed with candy canes. I love the little ones that you get in a box and their little baggies are all connected so they’re just this big chain of tiny candy canes. I don’t think I had any candy canes last year when I spent Christmas in Turkey. Maybe I did, but I can’t really remember. One of the ladies at the front desk at school has a jar of mini-candy canes and I love stopping by to grab one.

If I’m going to really do this project, I have 95 more to go! I’m keeping my eyes peeled for the joy that God is bringing into my life.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Deb permalink
    December 1, 2010 9:59 pm

    I love these…..especially #2!!!

  2. Gail Hildebrand permalink
    December 2, 2010 6:06 pm

    Here’s my start with my first joy statement this Christmas: #1 Reading Chelsea’s blog makes me happy. I love candy canes, too.

  3. December 2, 2010 8:34 pm

    i love #3. SO MUCH.

  4. December 6, 2010 11:17 pm

    I’ve heard of this “project” and I think it’s a great idea. Also, I’m really loving your blog – it’s so inspirational. :)

Leave a Reply

