Skip to content

oh, for grace to trust Him more.

November 5, 2010

This school year I’ve been reading through the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis with my littlest sisterbug. My grandpa gave me his set of them the last time I saw him before he died, so they’re pretty special to me. Our pace is kind of slow, with her reading a page and me reading a page for twenty minutes every day, but my goal is for us to finish by the time she finishes 2nd grade, which gives us about seven months.

I’ve never read the Chronicles of Narnia before now. Of course, growing up in a Christian home and going to Christian school, I’m familiar with the series–especially The Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe. My sister Kay was in the school production of the play. I think she was some sort of forest animal. Love that.

Anyways, I know there’s a ton of debate as to reading order and whatnot, but whatever. My books are from 1970 and are numbered on the spine, so we’re reading through them according to that. We read The Lion, With, and the Wardrobe first and now we’re on Prince Caspian. I’m loving it, although I think Kira sometimes gets bored. All well. We’re in it together.

sometimes we even make pizza together.

At one point Lucy, the youngest sibling, discovers Aslan (who is basically the God/Christ character in the stories). No one else can see him, and no one really wants to believe her and follow where she thinks Aslan is leading her. At first she doesn’t follow him because she can’t convince anyone else to go with her, but then she sees him again, and they have this conversation:

“Lucy,” he said, “we must not lie here for long. You have work in hand, and much time has been lost to-day.”
“Yes, wasn’t it a shame?” said Lucy. “I saw you all right. They wouldn’t believe me…But it wasn’t my fault anyway, was it?”
The Lion look straight into her eyes.
“Oh, Aslan, you don’t mean it was? How could I-I couldn’t have left the others and come up to you alone, how could I? Don’t look at me like that…oh well, I suppose I could. Yes, and it wouldn’t have been alone, I know, not if I was with you. But what would have been the good?”
Aslan said nothing.
You mean,” said Lucy rather faintly, “that it would have turned out all right–somehow? But how? Please, Aslan! Am I not to know?”
“To know what would have happened, child?” said Aslan. “No. Nobody is ever told that.”
Oh dear,” said Lucy.
But anyone can find out what will happen,” said Aslan. “If you go back to the others now, and wake them up; and tell them you have seen me again; and that you must all get up at once and follow me–what will happen? There is only one way of finding out.”
“Do you mean this is what you want me to do?” gasped Lucy.
“Yes, little one,” said Aslan.
“Will the others see you too? asked Lucy.
“Certainly not at first,” said Aslan. “Later on, it depends.”
“But they won’t believe me!” said Lucy.
“It doesn’t matter,” said Aslan.

As the story goes, she convinces her brothers and sisters to get up and follow her as she follows Aslan, and everything turns out peachy. Well. Actually, I don’t know because we’ve still got about 3 chapters until the end of the book. But I have an inkling that Aslan will come through, just like God does.

This little section spoke to me. There’s so much in it. The issue of grace and second chances. I love Lucy’s openness. She definitely has her doubts, but she trusts Aslan enough to bring her questions to him. She knows his character; she knows that he’s good, and he’s on her side. Her leap of faith is beautiful to me. It takes an inner security to be able to do that. My prayer is that over my lifetime I’ll continue to grow in my security of who God is. In the meantime, I’ll continue to try to discover my inner-child and embrace childlike faith.

jump.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Gail Hildebrand permalink
    November 5, 2010 3:23 pm

    I love your blogs, Chelsea Kim. And your unique talent in choosing photos. There is nothing ordinary about you.

  2. November 5, 2010 3:44 pm

    “anyone can find out what will happen”

    I love that.

  3. November 5, 2010 4:07 pm

    wow, you are blogging so much these days i can hardly keep up. also, interesting that you read lion/witch/wardrobe first. the series i read had the magician’s nephew first…oh the controversy. plus, it’s true, there is nothing ordinary about you.

  4. November 5, 2010 4:20 pm

    Love this! It makes me wanna read the Chronicles of Narnia (Which I never have). I also love your blogging, chels. You’re awesome and I love you!

  5. stacy povian permalink
    November 5, 2010 5:42 pm

    you’re so precious. love this.

  6. Anna permalink
    November 20, 2010 3:47 pm

    Um yep. I love you alot.
    Also, I definitely cried while reading all of those books.

  7. December 16, 2010 4:40 pm

    To follow Him whether anyone else comes along or not. More difficult than it sounds at times. Good post.

Leave a Reply

